online but lost gui
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    2
    Mac OS X 10.14 Firefox 64.0

    online but lost gui

    hi,

    i installed fedora 29 on my intel boxnuc7pjyh1. the nuc is connected to my living room tv via a hdmi . then i tried to install vmware workstation pro on top of it. that eventually installed but wouldn't run (kept asking for kernel headers. i ran dnf update successfully, a few times at that). during a troubleshooting session with vmware support, they ran yum autoremove (pretty that was the command) and then uninstalled workstation. then i rebooted for them. after rebooting i haven't gotten a gui session (it'll show the fedora logo during boot but not proceed to the login screen). the screen/tv will get stuck on a black background and "intel nuc" in white letters. i can still ssh to my f29 though. thoughts on what happened or what i can look into?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,470
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: online but lost gui

    Maybe somehow you got it set to boot to 'multi-user' target mode, this is the mode that supports multiple login users, networking but no default gui. In the old days it was just called "init 3" or "runlevel 3".

    ssh to the host and run this while watching the TV as the monitor (I mean watch the ssh to do the commands but the effects on the TV over HDMI)
    Code:
    systemctl get-default
    if that returns "multi-user.target" then that's the problem.

    To just switch to 'graphical' target right now without making that the default for the next boot you can run:
    Code:
    sudo systemctl isolate graphical.target
    If works correctly and you get the GUI you expect and want, then make that permanent for all reboots with:
    Code:
    sudo systemctl enable graphical.target
    sudo systemctl set-default graphical.target
    then reboot

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    2
    Mac OS X 10.14 Firefox 64.0

    Re: online but lost gui

    hi Marko,

    you were right about multiuser mode. but sudo systemctl enable graphical.target returned a warning/informational. sudo systemctl set-default graphical.target seemed to have run ok. though i do end back at the black background and intel nuc screen. thoughts?

    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$ systemctl get-default
    multi-user.target
    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$ sudo systemctl isolate graphical.target
    [sudo] password for mccheng:
    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$ sudo systemctl enable graphical.target
    The unit files have no installation config (WantedBy, RequiredBy, Also, Alias
    settings in the [Install] section, and DefaultInstance for template units).
    This means they are not meant to be enabled using systemctl.
    Possible reasons for having this kind of units are:
    1) A unit may be statically enabled by being symlinked from another unit's
    .wants/ or .requires/ directory.
    2) A unit's purpose may be to act as a helper for some other unit which has
    a requirement dependency on it.
    3) A unit may be started when needed via activation (socket, path, timer,
    D-Bus, udev, scripted systemctl call, ...).
    4) In case of template units, the unit is meant to be enabled with some
    instance name specified.
    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$ sudo systemctl set-default graphical.target
    Removed /etc/systemd/system/default.target.
    Created symlink /etc/systemd/system/default.target → /usr/lib/systemd/system/graphical.target.
    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$ systemctl get-default
    graphical.target
    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$ sudo reboot
    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$
    after rebooting…
    [newbielvl@hostless ~]$ systemctl get-default
    graphical.target


    Quote Originally Posted by marko
    Maybe somehow you got it set to boot to 'multi-user' target mode, this is the mode that supports multiple login users, networking but no default gui. In the old days it was just called "init 3" or "runlevel 3".

    ssh to the host and run this while watching the TV as the monitor (I mean watch the ssh to do the commands but the effects on the TV over HDMI)
    Code:
    systemctl get-default
    if that returns "multi-user.target" then that's the problem.

    To just switch to 'graphical' target right now without making that the default for the next boot you can run:
    Code:
    sudo systemctl isolate graphical.target
    If works correctly and you get the GUI you expect and want, then make that permanent for all reboots with:
    Code:
    sudo systemctl enable graphical.target
    sudo systemctl set-default graphical.target
    then reboot

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,470
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: online but lost gui

    You might want to review the "dnf history list", find the one that corresponded to the 'autoremove' then list that out with the info command:

    dnf history list
    dnf history info #

    where "#" is the number on the left margin of the history list that is the transaction that was the autoremove. Look at the packages and try to see if removing one of those might have broken your gui. You can just go brute force and rollback all the transactions that were after things went bad (see 'dnf history undo' and 'dnf history rollback' sections of the dnf man page. Of course rollback will get rid of the VmWare too.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,470
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: online but lost gui

    It might also be useful to set up your system for manual GUI starting, 'switchdesk' is a handy tool that helps you set up your ~/.Xdefault and ~/.Xclients-default files so "startx" will start your gui from command line.

    Code:
    dnf install switchdesk
    switchdesk <name of gui>
    (for example 'switchdesk GNOME' or ' switchdesk KDE' , obviously you can only ask for GUIs you have installed)

    then run "startx"
    Code:
    startx
    see if that starts your gui. This way you even if the gui doesn't start you might see useful warnings or errors on the command line. 'startx' will even work with the target in multi-user mode

  6. #6
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,924
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Re: online but lost gui

    they ran yum autoremove (pretty that was the command) and then uninstalled workstation. then i rebooted for them.
    Uninstalled workstation? If you mean the Gnome desktop environment, then my guess is that you don't have any gui components left after that.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,470
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: online but lost gui

    when he said that I thought he meant uninstalled "VmWare Workstation", but yes if he means Fedora's workstation group you're right

Similar Threads

  1. systemd: network-online.target / Network-wait-online.service
    By isedev in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st January 2014, 03:54 PM
  2. Trying to get online
    By purcell in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 18th February 2009, 08:14 AM
  3. Can't get online
    By NemoTech21 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th October 2008, 02:22 PM
  4. Who's Online is no more?
    By Chas.H in forum Suggestions & Feedback
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28th January 2005, 11:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •