Cannot Print
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    72
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Cannot Print

    Today I reinstalled Fedora 29. I have adjusted my firewall settings and yet still cannot print. Any suggestions? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    643
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Re: Cannot Print

    Open a web browser and enter in the url: localhost:631
    You can configure all things CUPS in there.
    Fedora 29 x86_64 on Vertex IV SSD / Inland SSD || Gigabyte B450 AORUS M || AMD Ryzen 2600 || Radeon R7 240 graphics || 16 GB DDR4-3200 || Emachines T5452 carcass
    Fedora 28 x84_64 on 500GB Seagate Barracuda

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    72
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Re: Cannot Print

    I forgot to mention that I did try in CUPS earlier and it would not work. I just went back and it displayed the network discovered printers. Earlier it did not. Weird. Anyway, I was able to add and print. Than you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Port CoQuitlam, BC
    Posts
    17
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: Cannot Print

    I am having this problem as well with a Cannon MF217w | I haven't been able to figure it out either. Here is a detailed thread that I have open;

    https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...52#post5942652

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    72
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Re: Cannot Print

    I don't know what made mine work. I wish I could assist. Sorry.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Port CoQuitlam, BC
    Posts
    17
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: Cannot Print

    Quote Originally Posted by chiguy1256
    I don't know what made mine work. I wish I could assist. Sorry.
    You got it working now? If so, mark the thread as solved please.
    Did you do anything fancy to get your printer working? Or just fooled around in CUPS?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    72
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Re: Cannot Print

    Honestly the same thing I tried earlier. I went to CUPS, but this time before I even did anything, I noticed that my wireless printer appeared as a networked discovered printer. I was surprised. All I can suggest is to allow all of the ports that is suggested for CUPS. Shutdown or reboot your pc and see if the printer shows up as a discovered printer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    72
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Re: Cannot Print

    Here is a list of ports used by CUPS. https://www.cups.org/doc/firewalls.html
    Here is some info from hplip. https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-i...nFirewall.html

Similar Threads

  1. Epson Workforce 435 spooling print jobs, but doesn't print
    By danlcarver in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th August 2012, 09:48 PM
  2. Print to file/ print to PDF print driver?
    By BillyBoy in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd February 2012, 10:42 AM
  3. Gimp: print fails but print of print preview works
    By tashirosgt in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd December 2009, 07:24 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th June 2009, 01:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •