I can not use my custom DNS further !
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Iraq
    Posts
    966
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    I can not use my custom DNS further !

    Hi. Since my usage on Windows, I was using OpenDNS by setting it manually .......
    On my Fedora Linux Cinnamon edition I already set it by:

    Go to “menu” | “preferences” | “Network connections” | select your network connection | click “Edit” | select “IPv4” tab | set “Method” at “Automatic (DHCP) addresses only” | enter DNS you wish to use in the “DNS servers” box | press “Save” | disconnect then reconnect or reboot your computer.

    Every think was OK, till several months when I noticed that this is no further working, & when I visit any DNS detector page then it will reveal my ISP default DNS !

    To be more accurate, I noticed this for 1st time when I changed my ISP from usual one to other due to temporal problem in my usual ISP. I continue on new ISP for only one month. During that month, I noticed the issue. But when I tried it - during that month - on other ISPs (of my friends) I detected that this issue only occur on that new ISP. After end on that month, I return to my original usual ISP, & every thing was OK till few months ago, when I noticed this issue !!

    It seem that it is an ISP special configuration & not an error in my system - as I hope - as I noticed also, that ONLY TOR BROWSER can bypass this & hide my DNS by changing it to other.

    Can you, kindly, issuer me about my conclusion: it is an ISP issue not error in my system ? And if so, then how can I modify my system to bypass this limitation as Tor browser already do ?

    I need for use custom DNS because default DNS in Iraq is slower than OpenDNS. Also, some time I use other custom DNS with anti-porno function to protect my children. Now all these are blocked .....
    Last edited by User808; 12th January 2019 at 09:59 AM.
    Fedora 28 X64 bit Cinnamon edition on Lenovo ThinkPad e550 with Intel core i7 5500 CPU @ 2.40 GH X 2, RAM = 8 GB, HHD = 1 TB, Hybrid VGA (Intel Corporation HD Graphic 5500 + Radeon R7 M265 2GB)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,703
    Linux Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Re: I can not use my custom DNS further !

    other than checking if they have switched over to IPv6 there's nothing else you can do. if you already tried applying the DNS change in Network Manager then your ISP is able to over-ride this at your hub or their connection servers. It's not an ISP error but clearly a new policy they have introduced. Carry on using Tor.

    I also use alternative DNS service (Quad9) because my ISP one is slow and unreliable. Quad9 for now is faster than Google and OpenDNS until it gets as many users as them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Iraq
    Posts
    966
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: I can not use my custom DNS further !

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    other than checking if they have switched over to IPv6 there's nothing else you can do. if you already tried applying the DNS change in Network Manager then your ISP is able to over-ride this at your hub or their connection servers. It's not an ISP error but clearly a new policy they have introduced. Carry on using Tor.

    I also use alternative DNS service (Quad9) because my ISP one is slow and unreliable. Quad9 for now is faster than Google and OpenDNS until it gets as many users as them.
    I agree with you that it is mostly new policy. Regarding Tor, it is slow which is opposite aim of use custom DNS ........
    Question is: how can Tor perform bypass for this restriction ? Just if we know how it do this, then we may be able to use it in modified way to make it connect to specific DNF instead of randomized DNS selection ......
    Fedora 28 X64 bit Cinnamon edition on Lenovo ThinkPad e550 with Intel core i7 5500 CPU @ 2.40 GH X 2, RAM = 8 GB, HHD = 1 TB, Hybrid VGA (Intel Corporation HD Graphic 5500 + Radeon R7 M265 2GB)

Similar Threads

  1. How to use custom patches for a custom rpmbuild kernel
    By Justin Bailey in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st July 2016, 12:37 AM
  2. Create a custom fedora dvd with custom packages
    By sedoa in forum Programming & Packaging
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd November 2013, 01:47 PM
  3. 1)Erratic install results w/initrd 2)custom spins,with custom drivers/modules?
    By fashionhat in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th March 2010, 07:51 PM
  4. Custom nvidia module for a Custom kernel
    By jbkt23 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd October 2007, 04:01 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th June 2006, 01:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •