Can't install 64 bit F28....
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Now, in the hills above, Intel, Apple, AMD, Google, & the rest of the Corporate HQ's ......yay!
    Posts
    84
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Can't install 64 bit F28....

    Greetings, & thanks (in advance) to anyone that reads or responds to my plight. Sometime back, my Dell laptop grew wings. It was in storage, during our move. As my eldest had just bought a new MacBook, I dug out the ancient one. Installed Fedora & all's been ight with the world. I wanted to fresh install F28 / 64bit. For some reason I installed 32 bit OS. Yesterday, I tried to get F28 Live to run. I begins with my choices to run live, test disc & run live, or troubleshoot. I've tried all, including run in basic graphics mode. My apologies, trying KDE, which I've had no issue with. Any suggestions?

    Below is my inxi-Fxmz file, showing 64 bit...I believe. Any suggestions? Or simply go back to 32 bit? Again, "Thanks to All!"

    Now, for the antique laptop.....

    [root@localhost ~]# inxi -Fxmz
    System: Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 4.18.17-200.fc28.i686 i686 bits: 32
    compiler: gcc v: 8.2.1 Console: tty 0
    Distro: Fedora release 28 (Twenty Eight)
    Machine: Type: Laptop System: Apple product: MacBook2,1 v: 1.0 serial: <filter>
    Mobo: Apple model: Mac-F4208CA9 v: PVT serial: <filter> BIOS: Apple
    v: MB21.88Z.00A5.B07.0706270922 date: 06/27/07
    Battery: Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M315/M235
    charge: 55% status: Discharging
    Memory: RAM: total: 2.93 GiB used: 679.3 MiB (22.7%)
    Array-1: capacity: 4 GiB slots: 2 EC: None max module size: 2 GiB note: est.
    Device-1: DIMM0 size: 2 GiB speed: 667 MT/s type: DDR2
    Device-2: DIMM1 size: 2 GiB speed: 667 MT/s type: DDR2
    CPU: Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core2 T7200 bits: 64 type: MCP
    arch: Core Merom rev: 6 L2 cache: 4096 KiB
    flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 7979
    Speed: 998 MHz min/max: 1000/2000 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 997 2: 998
    Graphics: Device-1: Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics
    driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0
    Display: server: Fedora Project X.org 1.19.6 driver: intel
    unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa tty: N/A
    OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GM v: 1.4 Mesa 18.0.5 direct render: Yes
    Audio: Device-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
    v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0
    Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.18.17-200.fc28.i686
    Network: Device-1: Marvell 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet driver: sky2 v: 1.30
    port: 1000 bus ID: 01:00.0
    IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
    Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR5418 Wireless Network Adapter [AR5008E 802.11bgn] driver: ath9k v: kernel port: 1000 bus ID: 02:00.0
    IF: wls1 state: up mac: <filter>
    Drives: Local Storage: total: 465.76 GiB used: 15.26 GiB (3.3%)
    ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST9500325AS size: 465.76 GiB temp: 27 C
    Partition: ID-1: / size: 49.09 GiB used: 12.86 GiB (26.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
    ID-2: /boot size: 476.2 MiB used: 166.5 MiB (35.0%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
    ID-3: /home size: 405.61 GiB used: 2.24 GiB (0.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-2
    ID-4: swap-1 size: 3.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-0
    Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 47.0 C mobo: N/A
    Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
    Info: Processes: 166 Uptime: 15m Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 8.2.1
    Shell: bash v: 4.4.23 inxi: 3.0.26
    Morse's Law: There is always time for another pint!

  2. #2
    GallComp's Avatar
    GallComp is offline Nuke 'em Alfred! Administrator - Starring in Bill & Steve's Bogus Journey
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,506
    Mac OS X 10.14.1 Chrome 70.0.3538.110

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    Your macbook has a 32-bit EFI, and cannot boot directly into 64-bit mode. This is an artificial issue created by apple that to my knowledge can be solved by a patch in the boot EFI in Mac OS, but I don't know if there is one for Fedora 28.

    "Since when has the world of computer software design been about what people want? This is a simple question of evolution. The day is quickly coming when every knee will bow down to a silicon fist, and you will all beg your binary gods for mercy. "


    BILL GATES...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Now, in the hills above, Intel, Apple, AMD, Google, & the rest of the Corporate HQ's ......yay!
    Posts
    84
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    Ta, for the input. I've thought there was something odd. Looking at the inxi-Fxmz info, I see 64 bit type. Type does not mean it is, my worthless opinion.
    Morse's Law: There is always time for another pint!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Now, in the hills above, Intel, Apple, AMD, Google, & the rest of the Corporate HQ's ......yay!
    Posts
    84
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    Well, 5 minutes of web searching, I found: https://danielquinn.org/blog/fedora-...white-macbook/ . Don't know if it will work, but I'll give it a try. Can't hurt anything (he states with fingers crossed). I can always re-install F28 32 bit.
    Morse's Law: There is always time for another pint!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,589
    Linux Chrome 70.0.3538.77

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    if it's working okay, why not leave it as it is? also if those instructions are no longer workable with the current ISO configurations there's a 32-bit ISO available for F29 KDE too - https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/fed...386-29-1.2.iso

  6. #6
    GallComp's Avatar
    GallComp is offline Nuke 'em Alfred! Administrator - Starring in Bill & Steve's Bogus Journey
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,506
    Mac OS X 10.14.1 Chrome 70.0.3538.110

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    I just noticed that you have 3Gb of memory, there is no need to install the 64bit version of fedora.

    "Since when has the world of computer software design been about what people want? This is a simple question of evolution. The day is quickly coming when every knee will bow down to a silicon fist, and you will all beg your binary gods for mercy. "


    BILL GATES...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,589
    Linux Chrome 70.0.3538.77

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    I concur with GallCamp, despite the inxi output showing there is 4GB installed, some of that is automatically allocated to the integrated 945GM Intel Express GPU so there's no real advantage to installing the 64-bit variant instead of the 32-bit for roughly 512MB RAM gain.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Now, in the hills above, Intel, Apple, AMD, Google, & the rest of the Corporate HQ's ......yay!
    Posts
    84
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    antikythera & GallComp, "Ta!" I reinstalled F28, & it is running smoothe & solid. I was planning on running dnf upgrade, but I thought the system was being a bit iffy. Nothing I could pinpoint, just didn't seem right. A bit sluggish. I know some will say, why reinstall F28 KDE, go straight to F29 KDE. I had everything working, Epson scanner, Cannon printer, Gimp (needed for the day work), audio. I decided to get back to where I had the ancient hardware (fully functional), then upgrade to F29 KDE. Hopefully, minimizing any gremlins.

    Again, thanks for the information. I might live in Silicon Valley, but I'm not in the tech world. I make my living with pencil / pen, & Gimp. Along with the help of the forum!
    Morse's Law: There is always time for another pint!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Now, in the hills above, Intel, Apple, AMD, Google, & the rest of the Corporate HQ's ......yay!
    Posts
    84
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Can't install 64 bit F28....

    To close this off...F29 KDE 32 Bit, installed & running very well. Tomorrow's test, scanner & printer.
    Morse's Law: There is always time for another pint!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th November 2014, 09:47 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd May 2013, 07:39 PM
  3. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 6th May 2010, 12:23 PM
  4. Is it possible to install GUI's, install browsers, install IP addresses?
    By booter in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th June 2007, 11:40 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th February 2006, 06:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •