How to use gnome-remote-desktop?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Age
    33
    Posts
    80
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    How to use gnome-remote-desktop?

    Hello,
    from time to time I want to connect to a remote Fedora workstation (from a Fedora laptop). Both of them are using Wayland and, while most of the time I can do fine with ssh and sftp, sometimes I would like to access the entire screen. X11 forwarding does not work on Wayland, but I heard that gnome-remote-desktop should be (will be?) the "right" screen sharing daemon for GNOME+Wayland.

    I tried installing it, but I am unable to start the service:

    Code:
    $ sudo systemctl start gnome-remote-desktop.service                                   
    Failed to start gnome-remote-desktop.service: Unit gnome-remote-desktop.service not found.
    even if the unit should be present:

    Code:
    $ rpm -ql gnome-remote-desktop                                                        
    ...
    /usr/lib/systemd/user/gnome-remote-desktop.service
    ...
    I can anyway run the daemon explicitly by running `/usr/libexec/gnome-remote-desktop-daemon`, which starts waiting. Now, I have no clue on how to use it, and I could not find any useful documentation.

    Has anyone some experience with it? Is it working? Can I use it with Boxes? How can it be used at all?
    Thanks
    ~Aki

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Age
    33
    Posts
    80
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: How to use gnome-remote-desktop?

    Duh, I just found out this resource: https://wiki.gnome.org/Projects/Mutter/RemoteDesktop

    I will try it, but if in the meantime someone has any tips, they are welcome. By the way, after installing gnome-remote-desktop, I **do not** find any options in my settings to enable screen sharing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    73
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: How to use gnome-remote-desktop?


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Al Ain, UAE
    Posts
    823
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 38.0

    Re: How to use gnome-remote-desktop?

    IMHO the best solution is to first get rid of Wayland and install Xorg. After that, all remote control utilities will work.
    --
    Have fun!
    http://www.aeronetworks.ca

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    73
    Linux Firefox 63.0

    Re: How to use gnome-remote-desktop?

    Quote Originally Posted by flyingdutchman
    IMHO the best solution is to first get rid of Wayland and install Xorg. After that, all remote control utilities will work.
    I have Xorg but when I connect to tigervnc all I get is a black screen and arrow cursor. Has been broken in f28 and f29 for some time now.

Similar Threads

  1. Gnome remote desktop
    By Pedroski in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 18th September 2011, 11:25 PM
  2. GNOME Remote Desktop issue
    By Duffed in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th July 2009, 03:04 AM
  3. Where is Remote Desktop now in Gnome?
    By JosephV in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10th February 2009, 02:43 PM
  4. Remote Gnome desktop connection
    By PinGUIWin in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th October 2008, 10:44 PM
  5. remote desktop (gnome)
    By sangfroid in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th June 2007, 03:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •