BrosTrend ac1200 wifi adapter working in Fedora 29
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

BrosTrend ac1200 wifi adapter working in Fedora 29

Greetings,

I am new to the forum and this is my first post and I am so happy that it is something that I solved on my own! However I am not sure how I did it. I am new to Fedora, not Linux, I have used Ubuntu mostly.

I am not a complete newbie, my google fu is pretty strong when it comes to linux.

I was trying to get the Brostrend wifi adapter working in linux and struggled for a few hours with commands and such, git repos and all.
    I did something that got it to work.
    However I can't get the dkms to work so it will recompile when I upgrade the kernel.

The driver works so far.

I have the bash commands saved if anyone wants to see them. too long to post here.

But almost there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You!

Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

Re: BrosTrend ac1200 wifi adapter working in Fedora 29

Ok, so now it does work, but now everytime I reboot the adapter is not recognized and I have to cd into the folder for rlt8812au and then sudo modprobe 8812au, then poof it works. I am sure it has something to do with dkms. Thank you all in advance.

Linux Firefox 52.0

Re: BrosTrend ac1200 wifi adapter working in Fedora 29

Ok, so now it does work, but now every time I reboot the adapter is not recognized and I have to cd into the folder for rlt8812au and then sudo modprobe 8812au, then poof it works.