Getting Clementine to play
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    406
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Getting Clementine to play

    Just install Fedora 29. Installed Clementine music player and it opened and played. Then later I tried again it won't open. Why does this happen? How do I get it to play again?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    73
    Posts
    23,593
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    Did you try opening it in a terminal to see what errors pop up?
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    406
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    Tried that. Nothing. What's odd is I installed it and Clementine opened and I played some music, then turned off. Later I try to open and nothing happens. I'll reinstall and see if that helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    406
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    Reinstalled. It opened and played. Then after closing out it won't open again! Very strange.

  5. #5
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,814
    Linux Chrome 70.0.3538.77

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    I'm using neither F29 nor the Clementine music player. But something to look for is a set lock file for that app. Many programs create a lock file when run so as insure that only that instance of the application can be run not allowing two or more instances. Normally, when you close such and application it deletes the lock file upon exit.

    You might want to check to see if there is such a lock for Clementine. Look in /run/lock and also search in your $HOME directory checking also for hidden files. Since reinstalling fixed the issue for a one time play, that might exclude the possibility of a persistent lock file being the problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    406
    Linux (Ubuntu) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    I've installed Clementine many times on many distros with no trouble. This might be a bug in Gnome or Fedora 29. Who knows.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Florianopolis - SC - Brazil
    Posts
    2
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    The same problem happened to me. Looking at the configuration file "~/.config/Clementine/Clementine.conf", there is a [MainWindow] section. I've changed the following configuration values and the window is showing up again.

    ---
    keeprunning=false
    hidden=false
    ---

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    406
    Linux (Ubuntu) Chromium 70.0.3538.77

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    Quote Originally Posted by tmgcardoso
    The same problem happened to me. Looking at the configuration file "~/.config/Clementine/Clementine.conf", there is a [MainWindow] section. I've changed the following configuration values and the window is showing up again.

    ---
    keeprunning=false
    hidden=false
    ---
    Thank you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Florianopolis - SC - Brazil
    Posts
    2
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 63.0

    Re: Getting Clementine to play

    Quote Originally Posted by vinoman
    Thank you.
    I've found another possible solution by installing the Gnome-extension "TopIcons Plus". The problem appears to be that Clementine is using a legacy tray icon.

Similar Threads

  1. .wma Files on Clementine
    By CuboneChan in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd March 2017, 07:38 PM
  2. [SOLVED]
    Clementine for Fedora 24
    By hrueda in forum Media software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th November 2016, 04:19 AM
  3. Clementine Player
    By mikeycuk11 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th January 2013, 05:32 PM
  4. Clementine and F15 LXDE
    By patrick013 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th January 2012, 09:04 PM
  5. clementine for F14
    By patrick013 in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd January 2012, 09:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •