[SOLVED] Gigabyte 970A chipset motherboards - BIOS settings affect wlan adaptor and stability
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 6.3 Firefox 62.0

    Gigabyte 970A chipset motherboards - BIOS settings affect wlan adaptor and stability

    I installed Fedora 28 on a new hard drive but the network drivers are not working. I downloaded the drivers from Intel's website but I have to build them for Fedora. When I try to build them, I get an error that devel-tools are needed. I read some packages can be installed from the iso, but I need the path to the files. Does anyone know where on the iso the files are? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,477
    Linux Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    first do
    dnf group list

    then you will see some groups that include the development tools.

    dnf group install "the development tools" "the other stuff to support the tools" "and so on".
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 6.3 Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    Thanks for the reply. I tried dnf group list but got a failed to synchronize cache for repo "updates" message. I also tried with the "--disablerepo *" flag but got the same error. Does that mean the tools are not there?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,477
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    Tools are there, definitely. I use them,

    dnf group list
    Design Suite
    Development Tools
    Fedora Eclipse
    Editors
    Electronic Lab
    Engineering and Scientific
    LibreOffice
    Office/Productivity
    Python Classroom
    Python Science
    RPM Development Tools
    Security Lab
    Window Managers
    Additional proprietaty repositories support
    Authoring and Publishing
    Games and Entertainment
    Telegram
    WhatsApp desktop client
    Wire

    System Tools
    Chromium browser
    Oracle Java 1.8
    Opera browser
    Skype


    The bolded entries are items I installed from a Fedora Remix.
    As a minimum, do sudo dnf group install editors "Development Tools"
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 6.3 Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    I had copied the iso to a directory on the drive and tried sudo dnf group install editors "Development Tools" but got a no match for repository message. I also tried with the --disablerepo * flag, same results. I want to make sure we are on the same page. You understand I am trying to install from the iso, not Fedora's website, correct?

  6. #6
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,804
    Linux Chrome 70.0.3538.67

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    If you installed Fedora from a "Live" image, everything on that image is now on your hard drive. There is nothing more to get from that iso image. dnf is useless without an internet connection as it must connect to the online repositories to work. If it's your wifi that's not working in Fedora, perhaps you could try a wired ethernet connection instead.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,477
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    Dnf works with repositories. If you have a repository that is within a directory, you can make a repro file that points to it.
    or you can download the groups to a folder say devt and then

    cd to the devt folder and then
    sudo dnf install *.rpm

    That is the way that anaconda does it's thing. For my system, anaconda copies around two thousand rpm files to a folder titled dnf_install and then installs the rpms from there by switching to that folder and executing a dnf install ./*rpm
    Last edited by lsatenstein; 23rd October 2018 at 05:58 PM.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 10.0 Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    I think the best thing to do at this point is find a computer with a network card compatible with the installer, create a usb stick with persistence and build the drivers from there. Thanks for the help anyway.
    Last edited by abk4523; 22nd October 2018 at 01:42 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,477
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    Since you do not have internet access, from another location, you need to determine the contents of the groups you need, download the *.rpm files and bring them to your system.

    If you have a spare usb port on your computer, you can usually purchase an external usb modem for about $10.00 You plug it in and if your router has wireless support, it will not be long before you need to provide the password for your router.

    I bought two exernal modems for $15.00
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 6.3 Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    If by "external usb modem" you mean usb wireless adaptor, I tried one. (I'm just griping.) Networkmanager did not even see it. What brand do you use? And this is a fresh install of Fedora 28, not an upgrade from 27 or earlier?
    Last edited by abk4523; 22nd October 2018 at 11:21 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,477
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    Quote Originally Posted by abk4523
    If by "external usb modem" you mean usb wireless adaptor, I tried one. (I'm just griping.) Networkmanager did not even see it. What brand do you use? And this is a fresh install of Fedora 28, not an upgrade from 27 or earlier?
    My adapter was a BestBuy special, two in a box with two short cables to allow the usb adapter to hang away from the desktop.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 10.0 Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    I googled adaptors for linux and found slim pickings. I think I will look into why the one I bought is not working. Failing that, I will either try creating a usb stick with persistence or creating the repos locally and working from there. Thanks for trying.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,485
    Linux Chrome 70.0.3538.67

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    if you can find out what chipset the USB devices use then this page will help a little

    https://wikidevi.com/wiki/List_of_Wi...e_IDs_in_Linux

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 6.3 Firefox 63.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    I know I am all over the map looking for a solution, so I decided to try installing the tools from the install iso. I found instructions here: https://www.techbrown.com/configure-...edora-28.shtml, but they seem outdated. They refer to a folder called "gopal" which does not appear on the iso. Does anyone know any specific .ppm names and or file names I can search for to find the correct folders?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Boston Ma
    Posts
    24
    Windows NT 6.3 Firefox 63.0

    Re: Installing development tools from iso

    Never mind guys. I had intermittent issues with the usb sticks, and noticed errors on uxci-hcd on start up. After some googling, I disabled usb 3.1, 3.0 and uxhi hands on and left support for legacy usb support on in the bios. The wired network now works.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED]
    Gigabyte Motherboards and Hardware
    By hotsauce in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 7th July 2013, 09:00 PM
  2. IOMMU on Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    By tashirosgt in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th May 2012, 03:01 PM
  3. Changing out Motherboards - BIOS Boot to UEFI
    By seewhyphotos in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th January 2012, 11:15 PM
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 9th June 2011, 01:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •