F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy - Europe
    Posts
    35
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    I have a fresh install of F28 where my scanner doesn't work anymore.
    Every thing was ok with the previous Fedora versions, but not with this one.
    I installed:
    iscan-firmware
    sane-backends
    sane-backends-drivers-scanners
    sane-backends
    from fedora repositories

    I installed:
    iscan-bundle-1.0.0.x64.rpm
    from epson site

    Xsane, Simple-scan, Skanlite all detect my scanner [EPSON: EPSON Scanner snapscan:libusb:002:007], but when I try to use it they say that can't connect to scanner

    Please, give me some help.
    Licia

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    central NY, USA
    Posts
    1,132
    Linux Firefox 60.0

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    May or may not be of use - (CentOS user with different scanner model):

    After I installed 'iscan', I found their own app in my 'Graphics' drop-down - and it works very well for me. I found I had to do a Preview scan, select the region, then the scan.

    At any rate, the 'sane' stuff didn't work with my new scanner; had to use their app. Again, mine isn't Fedora so poke around your Menus - perhaps their app hopefully shows up but you haven't discovered it yet.
    Change - the only constant.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy - Europe
    Posts
    35
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by lightman47
    After I installed 'iscan', I found their own app in my 'Graphics' drop-down - and it works very well for me. I found I had to do a Preview scan, select the region, then the scan.
    I tryed to run iscan in standalone mode and as a Gimp's plugin, but I get the error that it can't send commands to the scanner.

    :-[

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    central NY, USA
    Posts
    1,132
    Linux Firefox 60.0

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    "Standalone mode"?

    I run mine from the GUI drop-down (NOT as root user) with the scanner connected and turned on. Don't know what more info to offer.
    Change - the only constant.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,380
    Windows NT 10.0 Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    if you haven't done so since installing those scanner related packages a system reboot may help the situation

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy - Europe
    Posts
    35
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    if you haven't done so since installing those scanner related packages a system reboot may help the situation
    I already did it, several times....just in case...

Similar Threads

  1. HP Photosmart B109a scan doesn't work
    By Aliaric in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1st March 2010, 10:30 AM
  2. Epson 3490 scanner problems
    By billwww in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29th December 2007, 06:58 AM
  3. Local printer Epson EPL-6200L doesn't work on FC2
    By fdr in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd August 2007, 07:06 PM
  4. Unable to install Epson 3490
    By The New World in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th August 2006, 05:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •