F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy - Europe
    Posts
    36
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    I have a fresh install of F28 where my scanner doesn't work anymore.
    Every thing was ok with the previous Fedora versions, but not with this one.
    I installed:
    iscan-firmware
    sane-backends
    sane-backends-drivers-scanners
    sane-backends
    from fedora repositories

    I installed:
    iscan-bundle-1.0.0.x64.rpm
    from epson site

    Xsane, Simple-scan, Skanlite all detect my scanner [EPSON: EPSON Scanner snapscan:libusb:002:007], but when I try to use it they say that can't connect to scanner

    Please, give me some help.
    Licia

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    central NY, USA
    Posts
    1,158
    Linux Firefox 60.0

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    May or may not be of use - (CentOS user with different scanner model):

    After I installed 'iscan', I found their own app in my 'Graphics' drop-down - and it works very well for me. I found I had to do a Preview scan, select the region, then the scan.

    At any rate, the 'sane' stuff didn't work with my new scanner; had to use their app. Again, mine isn't Fedora so poke around your Menus - perhaps their app hopefully shows up but you haven't discovered it yet.
    Change - the only constant.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy - Europe
    Posts
    36
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by lightman47
    After I installed 'iscan', I found their own app in my 'Graphics' drop-down - and it works very well for me. I found I had to do a Preview scan, select the region, then the scan.
    I tryed to run iscan in standalone mode and as a Gimp's plugin, but I get the error that it can't send commands to the scanner.

    :-[

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    central NY, USA
    Posts
    1,158
    Linux Firefox 60.0

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    "Standalone mode"?

    I run mine from the GUI drop-down (NOT as root user) with the scanner connected and turned on. Don't know what more info to offer.
    Change - the only constant.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,592
    Windows NT 10.0 Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    if you haven't done so since installing those scanner related packages a system reboot may help the situation

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy - Europe
    Posts
    36
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    if you haven't done so since installing those scanner related packages a system reboot may help the situation
    I already did it, several times....just in case...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy - Europe
    Posts
    36
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 70.0.3538.77

    Re: F28: Epson scan 3490 doesn't work

    I’m always struggling to let my scanner work again.

    Hoping to let my scanner work again I dnf-upgraded to F29 but no luck with that.

    So I uninistalled completely sane, x-sane and all scanner utilities and I tried installing sane with both 32 and 64 libraries and epson driver in 32 bit version (iscan-2.10.0-1.c2.i386.rpm) and then in 64 bit version (iscan.x86_64-2.30.1-1.usb0.1.ltdl7, iscan-data.noarch-1.36.0-1, iscan-network-nt.x86_64-1.1.1-1 ) but nothing changed

    In both situations (as it happened on F28) the scanning utilities identify correctly my scanner at their startup but as soon as they try to scan they throw an error:

    Simplescan says: "Acquisizione non riuscita. Impossibile connettersi allo scanner"
    <Scanning went wrong. It’s impossible to connect scanner>
    iscan (epson’s utuility) says: "Impossibile inviare comandi allo scanner. Controllare lo stato dello scanner."
    <It’s impossible to send commands to scanner. Control scanner status>
    X-sane says: "Non possibile avviare lo scanner. L'argomento non valido"
    <It’s impossible to start scanner. Argument is not valid>

    I want to let you know that my scanner worked properly on my F27 that was obtained trought various dnf-upgrade starting from F22 (and it used 32 bit version of epson scanner)
    At the last dnf-upgrade to F28 something went wrong with my external monitor, I wasn’t able to solve the problem and so I had to do a fresh install of F28. At that point my scanner stopped working.


    Please help me to solve this problem:
    Thanks
    Licia

Similar Threads

  1. HP Photosmart B109a scan doesn't work
    By Aliaric in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1st March 2010, 10:30 AM
  2. Epson 3490 scanner problems
    By billwww in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29th December 2007, 06:58 AM
  3. Local printer Epson EPL-6200L doesn't work on FC2
    By fdr in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd August 2007, 07:06 PM
  4. Unable to install Epson 3490
    By The New World in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th August 2006, 05:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •