No sound output on new iMac18,2
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 68.0.3440.84

    No sound output on new iMac18,2

    Just trying to urge the support of the sound card in a new iMac18,2. Though it appears to be working just fine, according to pavucontrol and alsamixer, there isn't any speaker output.

    Currently, snd_hda_codec_generic is the module loaded (with snd_hda_intel) though I've tried loading modules associated with older/past macs.

    And, only just now that I'm reviewing the output of lspci, the audio device's name has changed in the past few days. It used to be 'Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H HD Audio (rev 31)' but now it is 'Intel Corporation 100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller (rev 31)'.

    Nothing has improved however, at this point. Below are links to the output of alsa-info.sh, the first one from four days ago and the second from a few minutes ago.

    Any thoughts are appreciated.

    https://pastebin.com/E6CWpdFz
    https://pastebin.com/w1b9DZ2P

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: No sound output on new iMac18,2

    Just a bump after several kernel updates. Still pavucontrol is all peachy about sound output but there is nothing coming from the speakers.


    Quote Originally Posted by emc986
    Just trying to urge the support of the sound card in a new iMac18,2. Though it appears to be working just fine, according to pavucontrol and alsamixer, there isn't any speaker output.

    Currently, snd_hda_codec_generic is the module loaded (with snd_hda_intel) though I've tried loading modules associated with older/past macs.

    And, only just now that I'm reviewing the output of lspci, the audio device's name has changed in the past few days. It used to be 'Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H HD Audio (rev 31)' but now it is 'Intel Corporation 100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller (rev 31)'.

    Nothing has improved however, at this point. Below are links to the output of alsa-info.sh, the first one from four days ago and the second from a few minutes ago.

    Any thoughts are appreciated.

    https://pastebin.com/E6CWpdFz
    https://pastebin.com/w1b9DZ2P

Similar Threads

  1. one app wont output sound via hdmi output ati radeon hd 4570
    By yoda2016 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th April 2018, 07:18 PM
  2. sound output
    By glitch256 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th August 2014, 03:52 AM
  3. No Sound Output
    By Interknet in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd January 2011, 01:11 AM
  4. Pulseaudio or alsa problem. Sound works but no sound output
    By spacie in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 27th June 2009, 04:08 PM
  5. Mplayer sound output
    By dreamweaver in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th October 2004, 03:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •