A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    27
    Posts
    90
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 61.0

    A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    When using XFCE I move the system tray from the top-right, to the top-left. This way, everything on the top panel is on the left side - things only appear on the 'right' if I open too many windows. I find the default very annoying. Why should 'applications' go on the left, and system icons on the right? It also creates another problem, that there are two places to click to get the log out menu.

    I add the 'user' menu (for logout/shutdown) onto the quick launch dock on the bottom, I also add a clock here.

    A side thought: I used to dislike the 1px borders in XFCE but if you get a decent mouse (Logitech G302 for example) then it isn't a problem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,588
    Linux Chrome 67.0.3396.79

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    The Fedora default screen layout in Xfce is very basic. That is something we changed in Korora but unfortunately we aren't making any systems at the moment. We also moved the bottom panel to the side as that makes more sense on wide screens.

    If the border edge is a problem with resizing you can use Alt + right click to resize from anywhere in the window.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    27
    Posts
    90
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 61.0

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    Thanks for the tip. I look forward to the release of, was it 4.14? Once everything is ported to GTK3 then XFCE will get Wayland support.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,588
    Linux (Android 6.0.1) Chrome 67.0.3396.87

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffnz
    Thanks for the tip. I look forward to the release of, was it 4.14? Once everything is ported to GTK3 then XFCE will get Wayland support.
    4.14 won't have Wayland support just the major parts of Xfce ported to gtk3. Wayland will mean a complete rewrite. May happen one day but not for a while.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Callicoon, NY
    Posts
    16
    Linux Chrome 69.0.3497.81

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    I agree that the defaults for Xfce are pretty bad. I have my Xfce really stripped down (see attachment) and click "don't reserve space on borders" and make everything semi-transparent. In the end, it works out great, since I pretty much have use of my entire screen!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_2018-09-05_23-06-38.png 
Views:	53 
Size:	12.6 KB 
ID:	29790

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    /
    Posts
    5,199
    Windows 7 Chrome 69.0.3497.81

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffnz
    Thanks for the tip. I look forward to the release of, was it 4.14?
    If you upgrade to Fedora 29, you will be running Xfce 4.13.x components.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    9
    Linux Chrome 69.0.3497.102

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    I've used several distros and once I seen Xfce I was hooked. On all the Linux distros I installed Xfce; created the default panels one at top and one at bottom.
    I use compiz heavily so naturally have the Fusion-Icon on the top panel.

    I have the panels 30 pixels high which may seem like too much but on a 2560x1440 monitor, it isn't. I add Visual Studio Code on the top panel for editing conkys mainly.
    The only thing I add to the bottom is nvidia-settings so I can see if the fan is on, etc. Because it does not unless you enable coolbits in the Xorg.conf file and initiate a command at startup.

    Here is what it currently looks like. I'm helping with development of Conkywx version 8 right now, so that is what all of the cool stuff is. It actually scrolls and it would take a video to show the true beauty.

    Arch Linux, openSUSE TW, Fedora 28 Workstation and Windows 10
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    /
    Posts
    5,199
    Linux Chrome 70.0.3538.67

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan
    I've used several distros and once I seen Xfce I was hooked. On all the Linux distros I installed Xfce; created the default panels one at top and one at bottom.
    I use compiz heavily so naturally have the Fusion-Icon on the top panel.

    I have the panels 30 pixels high which may seem like too much but on a 2560x1440 monitor, it isn't. I add Visual Studio Code on the top panel for editing conkys mainly.
    The only thing I add to the bottom is nvidia-settings so I can see if the fan is on, etc. Because it does not unless you enable coolbits in the Xorg.conf file and initiate a command at startup.

    Here is what it currently looks like. I'm helping with development of Conkywx version 8 right now, so that is what all of the cool stuff is. It actually scrolls and it would take a video to show the true beauty.

    Wow!

    Just Wow! This is really cool. You really have to share the how to!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    ~
    Posts
    1,948
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    XFCE is al right but I wish they would work on usability. There are a gazillion options but none of them make sense.
    Keyboard shortcuts needs way too much tweaking and for some basic things external scripts are necessary (e.g., moving windows to other screens).
    Multi monitor in general is implemented in a pretty moronic way. (Separate panels for all screens, really? How does that work with laptops?)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,588
    Linux (Android 6.0.1) Chrome 69.0.3497.100

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    Multi monitor support is one thing that has improved in 4.13.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    ~
    Posts
    1,948
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 62.0

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    Quote Originally Posted by ozjd
    Multi monitor support is one thing that has improved in 4.13.
    Ah, did some searching and looks indeed the new GTK3 panel and profiles might address this. I actually use awesome wm that's "enhanced" with xfce-panel and some other parts of xfce so hopefully the changed parts stay modular and don't break my usecase.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    9
    Linux Chrome 70.0.3538.77

    Re: A few simple modifications to XFCE desktop so that it makes sense

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan
    I've used several distros and once I seen Xfce I was hooked. On all the Linux distros I installed Xfce; created the default panels one at top and one at bottom.
    I use compiz heavily so naturally have the Fusion-Icon on the top panel.

    I have the panels 30 pixels high which may seem like too much but on a 2560x1440 monitor, it isn't. I add Visual Studio Code on the top panel for editing conkys mainly.
    The only thing I add to the bottom is nvidia-settings so I can see if the fan is on, etc. Because it does not unless you enable coolbits in the Xorg.conf file and initiate a command at startup.

    Here is what it currently looks like. I'm helping with development of Conkywx version 8 right now, so that is what all of the cool stuff is. It actually scrolls and it would take a video to show the true beauty.

    We're still testing Conkywx version 8, not sure when it will come out, not too much longer I don't think.

    It will be found here: http://foreverquest.blogspot.com

    Version 7 is what is available now.
    Arch Linux, openSUSE TW, Fedora 28 Workstation and Windows 10
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series

Similar Threads

  1. Dual screens and this makes no sense why it's working
    By rcaca0 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th November 2013, 08:14 PM
  2. Samba makes no sense
    By lightnb in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 6th November 2006, 05:13 AM
  3. Because it makes good business sense...
    By Qwagmire in forum Wibble
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th June 2006, 08:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •