FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    15
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 60.0

    Want two monitors to be same display.

    I am using Fedora 28 XFCE spin. Am teaching a class using laptop plugged into a big screen monitor and want my laptop screen and the wall mounted big screen to be duplicates.

    Using the display program in the settings manager I put the big screen on top so the class can see what I am doing but my laptop screen acts like a lower extension to the desktop so I have to look at the big screen to see what I am doing.

    Any suggestion as to how to get the pictures the same?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,144
    Linux Firefox 61.0

    Re: Want two monitors to be same display.

    see post #11 onwards of this thread and give it a go if possible. you may need to change the display values to the appropriate output types:

    https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=9808

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    15
    Linux Firefox 60.0

    Re: Want two monitors to be same display.

    Thank you antikythera,
    That helped.
    For me:
    rally@silverbird$ cat ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml
    got '<property name="eDP" type="string" value="1. LGD 16&quot;">'
    so
    rally@silverbird$ xrandr --output HDMI-0 --auto --same-as eDP WAS THE COMMAND
    and then used the Settings Manager > Display > Select the big screen to change and set it to the same resolution as my laptop, 1366 X 768 and all is well. Thanks for helping, call it Solved.

Similar Threads

  1. Fedora Shell won't display with two connected monitors
    By asedlack in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th August 2012, 05:58 PM
  2. Dual Monitors: No display until Xserver starts
    By RichiAint in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th February 2012, 09:05 PM
  3. Dual Monitors, Backing Up Display Properties
    By Whgresiak in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th December 2007, 12:52 AM
  4. How to swap dual head display monitors
    By theoracle in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th January 2007, 01:09 PM
  5. No Clone Display Option for Dual Monitors?
    By peelee33 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th June 2006, 05:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •