Ldap 389 directory
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2
    Windows NT 10.0 Firefox 60.0

    Ldap 389 directory

    Hello

    i want to create an LDAP server for my company, and i choose 389 Directory.
    But, it seems i cannot make it work.

    I have to admit i'm not really familiar with Linux system, i know just the basics...
    so i might have forgotten one small thing here and then.

    i use centOs because i'm more familiar with it, rather than Fedora, but since it's a fedora based server, i was hoping to have more replies here.

    i follow those two tutorials : https://www.ostechnix.com/setup-ldap-server-centos-7/
    and https://www.ehowstuff.com/setup-389-...r-on-centos-7/

    In the end of the configuration i've got the following error :
    Are you ready to set up your servers ? yes
    Creating directory server...
    Could not importe LDIF file '/tmp/ldifXOMV3_.ldif'. error 256. Output: importing data
    Error - Problem accessing the lockfile /var/lock/dirsvr/slapd-NameMachine/lock

    Does anybody have an idea where i forgot a thing ?

    Thank in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    911
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 60.0

    Re: Ldap 389 directory

    it maybe you are running a directory service for wincr4p, and also an ldap server simult ? it may have something to do with that. or maybe disabling selinux...
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2
    Windows NT 10.0 Firefox 61.0

    Re: Ldap 389 directory

    Quote Originally Posted by bobx001
    it maybe you are running a directory service for wincr4p, and also an ldap server simult ? it may have something to do with that. or maybe disabling selinux...
    I'm sorry for the delay, i just came back on the job and on the project.

    Since my server didn't work, i create another from the beginnig, and this time it's working !

    Now, i have to find a way to synchronize it with our Active Directory server, to obtain not only the users list (i really don't want to rewrite something like 350 people one by one), but also their password, so i can do more test with application.

    The hard part will be that i'have got more than one domain to deal with. I hope it will work.

    if anyone has any ideas, i'm listening !

Similar Threads

  1. Setting up Active Directory Authentication via LDAP in F26
    By Linefader in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th September 2017, 11:25 AM
  2. FC5: Apache LDAP and Active Directory
    By pablonhd in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th November 2006, 03:00 AM
  3. LDAP ( Light waight Directory Services )
    By mohan_rahul in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th December 2005, 08:57 PM
  4. Directory Server (ldap)
    By SteveH in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd July 2005, 04:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •