Memtest results - do I truly have faulty memory?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    6

    Memtest results - do I truly have faulty memory?

    I've been getting a lot of page crashes in Firefox and Chrome as well as lockups of the whole system periodically and I keep seeing segmentation faults.

    I'm not a guru by a long shot and so I'm asking for the help of you gurus out there.

    The errors seem to have started when I upgraded the memory to 2 sticks for total of 8Gb memory. So I ran memtest (from https://www.memtest86.com/download.htm) and it certainly seems to point to there being a memory issue, in my limited knowledge anyway.

    I've attached the output files .... the pdf version only gives an overview whereas the log version gives a lot more information.


    In your guru opinion do I have faulty memory that I should try and RMA and is it one stick or both? Or should I be looking elsewhere?

    Cheers for your time folks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,411

    Re: Memtest results - do I truly have faulty memory?

    If Memtest says you have a problem with the sticks, before you return them,
    a) swap the two. A swap entails a reseating of the pins. The swap may cure the problem

    If the swap fails to cure the problem. Remove one of the dimms, run memtest, then remove the other after replacing the first.

    Do it with each dimm socket. You may on a small chance have a good set of memory, but a defective mother board.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,859

    Re: Memtest results - do I truly have faulty memory?

    Yes ... and I would also blow out the memory sockets with electronic cleaner ... I use an alcohol based pressure can ... and clean all the terminals with the same cleaner, and also do a visual inspection making sure all the terminals are present and in contactable condition.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    161

    Re: Memtest results - do I truly have faulty memory?

    Plus, make sure that when you install the modules they are fully and properly seated in the socket. Sometimes it's difficult to get the little buggers properly set...it make take more force than you'd like.
    Hope is not a plan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    926
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 60.0

    Re: Memtest results - do I truly have faulty memory?

    also, make sure your BIOS is set up properly.
    if you set the DRAM timing wrong, you may get a lot of errors.
    See if the BIOS has automatic or "optimal" settings options. (I would do a factory defaults reset first)

    EDIT: also, can you send us a pic of your motherboard ? maybe you installed them into the wrong slots ? it has happened to me before.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

Similar Threads

  1. Memtest's hammer test
    By Maryyy in forum Wibble
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 20th March 2016, 03:44 PM
  2. Fedora 20 x86_64 and reboot during memtest [8GB]
    By scottjg in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th January 2014, 01:23 PM
  3. What does memtest do? How trustworthy is it?
    By joe.pelayo in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12th August 2007, 12:40 AM
  4. memtest from hard drive?
    By ghell in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th January 2007, 09:16 PM
  5. do i have a faulty amd chip?
    By steppenwolfUSA in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th October 2006, 07:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •