anaconda fails with KDE Network installation
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,223

    anaconda fails with KDE Network installation

    Tried three different configurations, all based on KDE as the default, with some packages omitted.
    I had problems with fonts missing, (text.hebrew), though I do not use any.
    Finally the last attempt was a fatal error message missing signal.
    iso=Fedora-Workstation-netinst-x86_64-28-1.1.iso

    31 - Install from .iso image for rawhide system fails
    RH bug 1555931
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,223

    Re: anaconda fails with KDE Network installation

    How would I know when the ISO is again bootable?

    Several people have filed the same problem against RH bug 1555931

    Even the Live Respins will not install
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    716

    Re: anaconda fails with KDE Network installation

    I am not sure if you reported in the correct bug, given the description you gave.
    I hit bug 1555931 myself, for the first time in many years, when installing Workstation with Fedora-Workstation-netinst-x86_64-28-1.1.iso.

    As Jiri Konecny points out, it is a duplicate of 1398847 and is caused by a bad rpm. In this case, tex-fonts-hebrew, which is in group authoring-and-publishing. I was able to install simply by not including group authoring-and-publishing.

    The moral of the story is; do not add any additional groups when you do a network install with anaconda. Install them after you have a basic install. Anaconda is just too brittle when it comes to packaging errors. As Bruce Jerrick point out in 1398847, 'it would be nice if anaconda could wait until all packages are tried before croaking'

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,223

    Re: anaconda fails with KDE Network installation

    But I want that RPM. I did eliminate it, but another RPM caused a failure.

    In any event, I took the Rawhide version of KDE and had no problem with it's installation, using the Rawhide version.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    716

    Re: anaconda fails with KDE Network installation

    I have not tried installing that package since installing F28 but several people in 1398847 state they had no problem installing a broken package using dnf after the install was complete.

    The issue is that anaconda should be able to install a bootable system in the presence of the odd bad package and report the problem when the install is finished, but it cannot. It just falls over, (in my case at package 2015 of 2146).

    One must expect there to be some bad packages in a repository as big as Fedora's, so the more packages you include in your anaconda install the more likely you will hit one and as a result have your whole install fail. A newcomer to Fedora is not likely to be impressed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,223

    Re: anaconda fails with KDE Network installation

    I sticking to Rawhide. I really don't see any difference between F28 KDE and Rawhide KDE
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

Similar Threads

  1. F14 Anaconda network Installation
    By lewis41 in forum F14 Development
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12th August 2010, 04:37 PM
  2. Fedora 8 Network Installation (http) Fails
    By tarheel92x in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th January 2008, 12:31 AM
  3. Anaconda fails with installation
    By zoltaire in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th October 2007, 10:32 AM
  4. Anaconda fails durant first installation step !!
    By gandalf_thegrey in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th November 2005, 12:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •