proxy for DNF ???
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Sondrio Valtellina
    Age
    42
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    proxy for DNF ???

    But a good proxy to use with DNF or to invoke from the command line that is valid and not excessively slow??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: proxy for DNF ???

    You could try running dnf with an environment variable defined, but I don't know if that'll work:
    Code:
    http_proxy=http://1.2.3.4:3128/ dnf install my-package
    Or, you should set in the [main] section of /etc/dnf.conf the variable proxy.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Sondrio Valtellina
    Age
    42
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: proxy for DNF ???

    Quote Originally Posted by bgstack15
    You could try running dnf with an environment variable defined, but I don't know if that'll work:
    Code:
    http_proxy=http://1.2.3.4:3128/ dnf install my-package
    Or, you should set in the [main] section of /etc/dnf.conf the variable proxy.
    Yes but is the proxy suitable i miss you, someone to test??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: proxy for DNF ???

    This does not work very well.. DNF just picks a mirror at random and the files that are cached by proxy are not used because the ones that proxy has belong to another mirror.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,557
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: proxy for DNF ???

    Quote Originally Posted by bgstack15
    You could try running dnf with an environment variable defined, but I don't know if that'll work:
    Code:
    http_proxy=http://1.2.3.4:3128/ dnf install my-package
    Or, you should set in the [main] section of /etc/dnf.conf the variable proxy.
    To correct, the dnf.conf is in /etc/dnf/dnf.conf

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: proxy for DNF ???

    Nope, I ended up writing a URL-rewriter for Squid so that no matter which mirror is picked, the same mirror is used for the fetch.
    Therefore everything is cached..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: proxy for DNF ???

    Yes, I wrote a guide for that some time ago.

    https://forums.fedoraforum.org/showt...d-proxy-server

Similar Threads

  1. Proxy - non-proxy settings in Gnome 3 - F16
    By boaojatista in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th April 2012, 01:19 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th January 2012, 06:51 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st October 2011, 08:40 PM
  4. CGI-based proxy problem (nph-proxy.cgi), Apache?
    By xequtor in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th September 2007, 10:58 PM
  5. CGI-based proxy problem (nph-proxy.cgi)
    By xequtor in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th May 2006, 09:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •