Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    594

    Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    Hi there. After upgrading to F28 Beta I'm no longer able to use my Brother MFC-8890 for scanning in my network. gscan2pdf, nor simple-scan nor skanlite are able to locate it. No issues printing nor accessing its settings with firefox. It's the first time I see this happening after a version upgrade. I tried re installing the rpm drivers and ran the command
    Code:
    brsaneconfig3 -a name=SCANNER model=MFC-8890DW ip=192.168.1.106
    Running
    Code:
    brsaneconfig3 -q | grep SCANNER
    shows
    Code:
    0 SCANNER             "MFC-8890DW"        I:192.168.1.106
    Am I missing something here? Any hint appreciated,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,390

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    is sane-backends-drivers-scanners still installed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    427

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    In addition to checking whether sane-backends-drivers-scanners is installed as antikythera suggests, try installing xsane.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    594

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    is sane-backends-drivers-scanners still installed?
    Yes, as well as sane-backends, sane-backends-drivers-cameras, sane-backends-libs, sane-frontends, xsane-common and libsane-hpaio
    Last edited by Boricua; 5th April 2018 at 01:00 PM. Reason: Adding software installed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    594

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    Quote Originally Posted by donatom
    In addition to checking whether sane-backends-drivers-scanners is installed as antikythera suggests, try installing xsane.
    OK. Internet access is a little limited around here lately, but I will install xsane and report back.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    594

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    No progress. Xsane tries to find the scanner without success. I can only guess some kind of connection problem, software-sided.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    594

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    Here is some more info. I installed F28 Beta from scratch in my Lenovo T460s. All scanning apps show the standard "Noname Integrated Camera" message when ending scanning for devices. This is the crucial step missing in my desktop computer. I installed in the T460s the brother rpm driver for my other scanner, model MFC-8460n but still need to complete a final connection step since I'm out of my office at the moment. I expect it to work without issue.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    594

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    No, it didn't work either. I filed bug report 1564763 against sane-backends and found out that library libnsl isn't shipped by glibc in F28, but by separate package libnsl. I then filed a request to Brother to update the drivers. Hope this can be solved, because for me it would be a major setback. Would need to stick with F27 instead of upgrading.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    594

    Re: Unable to scan anymore after upgrade to F28

    I think I found a solution. Checking with dnfdragora, I noticed the library installed on my desktop is libnsl2. I also found as not installed libnsl, described as providing
    "...the legacy version of libnsl library, for accessing NIS services. This library is provided for backwards compatibility only; applications should use libnsl2 instead to gain IPv6 support."
    I installed libnsl and the scanner now works as expected. Don't know if this could be considered a permanent solution or just a temporary fix, since I am not sure I need IPv6 at all.

Similar Threads

  1. Simple Scan; Fedora sees/controls scanner but no scan displayed
    By andrewf in forum Photography, Imaging and Graphics Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st December 2017, 05:24 PM
  2. Simple Scan does not recognize scanner anymore
    By sprintcowboy in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th December 2017, 06:47 PM
  3. Unable to scan bluetooth devices
    By j.gohel in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th April 2008, 12:04 PM
  4. FC 3 -> FC 4 upgrade issue - Can't boot GUI anymore
    By gahligahli in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th July 2005, 11:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •