No option for wireless networks
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    patna, Bihar, India
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation No option for wireless networks

    Hello sir,
    I have installed fedora 27 in Dell inspiron 3148...i was a windows user and i am new to fedora....
    the problem is that i cant see any option for wireless networks in the upper right corner....only wired networks...
    Here are the outputs of codes for providing rest information to you...
    1. code: dnf update && dnf upgrade
    Output :
    Last metadata expiration check: 0:07:00 ago on Tue 03 Apr 2018 06:06:19 PM IST.
    Dependencies resolved.
    Nothing to do.
    Complete!
    Last metadata expiration check: 0:07:06 ago on Tue 03 Apr 2018 06:06:19 PM IST.
    Dependencies resolved.
    Nothing to do.
    Complete!


    2. code: lspci
    Output:
    01:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Limited BCM43142 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)

    3. code : dnf install https://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-$(rpm -E %fedora).noarch.rpm https://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-$(rpm -E %fedora).noarch.rpm
    Output:
    rpmfusion-free-release-27.noarch.rpm 10 kB/s | 20 kB 00:01
    rpmfusion-nonfree-release-27.noarch.rpm 10 kB/s | 20 kB 00:01
    Package rpmfusion-free-release-27-1.noarch is already installed, skipping.
    Package rpmfusion-nonfree-release-27-1.noarch is already installed, skipping.
    Dependencies resolved.
    Nothing to do.
    Complete!




    4. Code: dnf install kmod-wl
    Output:
    Package kmod-wl-6.30.223.271-16.fc27.x86_64 is already installed, skipping.



    5. code: dnf install broadcom-wl
    Output:
    Package broadcom-wl-6.30.223.271-3.fc27.noarch is already installed, skipping.



    6. code: uname -r
    Output:
    4.15.13-300.fc27.x86_64


    That was all i think...please anyone help me as soon as possible...tell me if you need to see the output of any other code...but please someone solve this soon.
    Thankyou

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    421

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Try installing NetworkManager-wifi: "# dnf install NetworkManager-wifi" or use dragora to install it. If this is already installed, restart so that your broadcom wifi driver can be activated.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    patna, Bihar, India
    Posts
    7

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    That didnt work...i tried it and it was already installed....i restarted but still no option for wifi.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    69

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Sometimes there is a wireless on / off Switch on the actual keyboard. it's usually fn + some key (fn + prtscr on my dell ) try to toggle it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    421

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Try installing akmod.wl and kernel-devel. You also should remove kmod.wl: "# dnf install akmod.wl kernel-devel", then "# dnf remove kmod.wl". Then restart to see if that allows you to start wifi. Here is a pretty good explanation of getting wifi to work on Dell: http://codeketchup.blogspot.com/2015...rivers-in.html

    Here is an explanation about the differences between kmod and akmod: https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/que...kmod-and-kmod/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    115

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Quote Originally Posted by rexrf
    Sometimes there is a wireless on / off Switch on the actual keyboard. it's usually fn + some key (fn + prtscr on my dell ) try to toggle it
    On my Dell Latitude I have a physical switch on the side of the laptop (in my case near the dvd drive) that turns the wireless network on and off. Caused me no end of hassle when I inadvertently turned it off when accessing the DVD.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    918

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Can you open a terminal, su - (root), and execute: rfkill list

    and post the output here ?
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    patna, Bihar, India
    Posts
    7

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Quote Originally Posted by rexrf
    Sometimes there is a wireless on / off Switch on the actual keyboard. it's usually fn + some key (fn + prtscr on my dell ) try to toggle it
    Same as on my dell....I tried it on windows to see if it works....then i opened fedora, i pressed it and it said "Airplane mode enabled" then i pressed it again then it said "Airplane mode disabled"....which means that it was already on...so in short it didnt work....Thanks for your effort though^^

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    patna, Bihar, India
    Posts
    7

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Quote Originally Posted by bobx001
    Can you open a terminal, su - (root), and execute: rfkill list

    and post the output here ?
    Code: rfkill list
    Output:
    0: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    patna, Bihar, India
    Posts
    7

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Quote Originally Posted by donatom
    Try installing akmod.wl and kernel-devel. You also should remove kmod.wl: "# dnf install akmod.wl kernel-devel", then "# dnf remove kmod.wl". Then restart to see if that allows you to start wifi. Here is a pretty good explanation of getting wifi to work on Dell: http://codeketchup.blogspot.com/2015...rivers-in.html

    Here is an explanation about the differences between kmod and akmod: https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/que...kmod-and-kmod/
    Thanks...i tried that but unfortunately it didnt work....
    akmod and kernel-devel were already installed.....removed kmod....still no option of wifi affter restart

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    918

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    wow, looks like your kernel is not seeing your WiFi card at all.
    look, I found some packages for the Broadcom chips, maybe installing the following packages from the list below:
    broadcom-wl
    b43-openfwwf
    b43-tools

    and then rebooting, may help.

    Code:
    [root@nova EXTERNAL11]# yum search broadcom
    Last metadata expiration check: 1:25:00 ago on Fri 06 Apr 2018 01:56:58 PM CEST.
    ============================================================== Name & Summary Matched: broadcom ==============================================================
    broadcom-wl.noarch : Common files for Broadcom 802.11 STA driver
    ================================================================= Summary Matched: broadcom ==================================================================
    b43-tools.x86_64 : Tools for the Broadcom 43xx series WLAN chip
    libcrystalhd.i686 : Broadcom Crystal HD device interface library
    libcrystalhd.x86_64 : Broadcom Crystal HD device interface library
    crystalhd-firmware.noarch : Firmware for the Broadcom Crystal HD video decoder
    b43-fwcutter.x86_64 : Firmware extraction tool for Broadcom wireless driver
    bcm43xx-fwcutter.x86_64 : Firmware extraction tool for Broadcom wireless driver
    b43-openfwwf.noarch : Open firmware for some Broadcom 43xx series WLAN chips
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    patna, Bihar, India
    Posts
    7

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Quote Originally Posted by bobx001
    wow, looks like your kernel is not seeing your WiFi card at all.
    look, I found some packages for the Broadcom chips, maybe installing the following packages from the list below:
    broadcom-wl
    b43-openfwwf
    b43-tools

    and then rebooting, may help.

    Code:
    [root@nova EXTERNAL11]# yum search broadcom
    Last metadata expiration check: 1:25:00 ago on Fri 06 Apr 2018 01:56:58 PM CEST.
    ============================================================== Name & Summary Matched: broadcom ==============================================================
    broadcom-wl.noarch : Common files for Broadcom 802.11 STA driver
    ================================================================= Summary Matched: broadcom ==================================================================
    b43-tools.x86_64 : Tools for the Broadcom 43xx series WLAN chip
    libcrystalhd.i686 : Broadcom Crystal HD device interface library
    libcrystalhd.x86_64 : Broadcom Crystal HD device interface library
    crystalhd-firmware.noarch : Firmware for the Broadcom Crystal HD video decoder
    b43-fwcutter.x86_64 : Firmware extraction tool for Broadcom wireless driver
    bcm43xx-fwcutter.x86_64 : Firmware extraction tool for Broadcom wireless driver
    b43-openfwwf.noarch : Open firmware for some Broadcom 43xx series WLAN chips
    I had the first two...i didnt have b43-tools, so I installed it and rebooted.....still cant see the wireless network options anywhere

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    918

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    hmmmmm
    searching around I found this thread, a bit old but contains a tidbit of interesting info:
    https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/que...n-fedora-2425/

    Use the akmod, it has an actual Linux kernel driver instead of trying to use the Windows one.
    From what I read around forums, Broadcom is one of those companies that never release their source code, regardless of how old the device is. So to make a driver for them is all basically savvy+trial&error.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    patna, Bihar, India
    Posts
    7

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Quote Originally Posted by bobx001
    hmmmmm
    searching around I found this thread, a bit old but contains a tidbit of interesting info:
    https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/que...n-fedora-2425/



    From what I read around forums, Broadcom is one of those companies that never release their source code, regardless of how old the device is. So to make a driver for them is all basically savvy+trial&error.
    see my codes above...i already have akmod and still no help, should i install ndiswrapper??

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    91
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 61.0

    Re: No option for wireless networks

    Quote Originally Posted by pranav0112
    see my codes above...i already have akmod and still no help, should i install ndiswrapper??
    Bcm* cards are broken for kernel version 4.17.*
    Try ndiswrapper.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. F12 wireless networks not detected
    By aghatpan in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th April 2011, 06:48 AM
  2. Detect Wireless Networks
    By skateaction in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th December 2008, 10:13 PM
  3. how to look for wireless networks?
    By pabloguevara in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st November 2006, 09:02 PM
  4. Available Wireless Networks Application
    By aboran in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st January 2006, 06:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •