I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,541

    I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    This 4 gigs ram and 1 terrabye drive system is using a "I3" cpu. The bios I downloaded from the web is three releases ahead of what is on the motherboard.

    The downloaded zip file has a new bios, but it asks me to boot a dos machine and to run the accompanying update program .


    Does someone know of a dos that I can install and boot from a flash drive. Thereafter I can run the dos program to update the Aspire's bios?

    I don't own a windows machine so, I am hoping for something that I can install to a flash drive with Linux

    Thanks
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,602

    Re: I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    dos 6.22 from here - http://www.allbootdisks.com/download/iso.html

    dd it to the flash drive as per any other bootable ISO

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,602

    Re: I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    or you can use rufus if you have windows on another machine

    https://www.howtogeek.com/136987/how...dos-usb-drive/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,541

    Re: I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    Antikythera
    It is not a bootable iso. It is a zip file with a directory. The Readme asks for to run DOS, and then execute the integrated *.bat file.

    I really just want a *.iso DOS that I could use to run the bat file from the second Flash.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,602

    Re: I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    Quote Originally Posted by lsatenstein
    Antikythera
    It is not a bootable iso. It is a zip file with a directory. The Readme asks for to run DOS, and then execute the integrated *.bat file.

    I really just want a *.iso DOS that I could use to run the bat file from the second Flash.
    follow the links, that's what they provide but with rufus you can add the necessary files to the created bootable media. it has freeDOS creation functions built into it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    956

    Re: I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    what's a "terrabyte" ? sorry for the pun, it's still April 1 lol.....
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,602

    Re: I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    a terrabye is a good term for a notebook HDD since they are not as robust as desktop drives

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,541

    Re: I took a Asus Aspire out of mothballs and I need to update the bios

    Notebooks with drives of 1 terabyte often get dropped, resulting in 1 terrabyte drives. Thanks Antikythera for the reminder and explanation.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

Similar Threads

  1. readd uefi fedora certificate after asus bios update
    By knutjb in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th April 2017, 01:20 AM
  2. Audio volume fix for Asus EeePC-1000HA + bios update
    By jonathonp in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th October 2009, 03:55 PM
  3. how do i verify ram settings in bios -- ASUS M2N-E
    By steve941 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th September 2006, 09:48 PM
  4. Asus WL-107G WLAN and Acer Aspire 1300 woes...
    By thestonegroover in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th February 2005, 05:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •