FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Location
    Posts
    58

    errors in updating f28 beta 1.3

    Hi,
    I started using f28.
    It was downloaded from this page: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_...t_Desktop_Test
    And I'm using this iso: https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/c...8_Beta-1.3.iso

    I tried to update it as usual by 'sudo dnf update' but some problems shows up:

    Code:
    Skipping packages with conflicts:
    (add '--best --allowerasing' to command line to force their upgrade):
     mesa-filesystem       x86_64   18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28     updates-testing    29 k
    Skipping packages with broken dependencies:
     mesa-dri-drivers      x86_64   18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28     updates-testing    14 M
     mesa-libxatracker     x86_64   18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28     updates-testing   1.4 M
     mesa-vulkan-drivers   x86_64   18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28     updates-testing   1.8 M
    Any suggestion please?
    Cheers
    Last edited by horizonbrave; 29th March 2018 at 04:14 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,114

    Re: updating f28 beta 1.3

    I was testing with Beta1.2 (Yesterday's date)

    My download errors
    Code:
    Problem 1: cannot install the best update candidate for package mesa-dri-drivers-18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28.x86_64
      - nothing provides libLLVM-6.0.so(LLVM_6.0)(64bit) needed by mesa-dri-drivers-18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28.x86_64
     Problem 2: cannot install the best update candidate for package mesa-libxatracker-18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28.x86_64
      - nothing provides libLLVM-6.0.so(LLVM_6.0)(64bit) needed by mesa-libxatracker-18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28.x86_64
     Problem 3: problem with installed package mesa-dri-drivers-18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28.x86_64
      - package mesa-dri-drivers-18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28.x86_64 requires mesa-filesystem(x86-64) = 18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28, but none of the providers can be installed
      - cannot install both mesa-filesystem-18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28.x86_64 and mesa-filesystem-18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28.x86_64
      - cannot install both mesa-filesystem-18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28.x86_64 and mesa-filesystem-18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28.x86_64
      - cannot install the best update candidate for package mesa-filesystem-18.0.0-0.3.rc4.fc28.x86_64
      - nothing provides libLLVM-6.0.so(LLVM_6.0)(64bit) needed by mesa-dri-drivers-18.0.0-0.5.rc5.fc28.x86_64
    warning: /var/cache/dnf/updates-testing-3ab9f75e4a13f117/packages/authselect-compat-0.3.2-1.fc28.x86_64.rpm: Header V3 RSA/SHA256 Signature, key ID 9db62fb1: NOKEY
    Importing GPG key 0x9DB62FB1:
     Userid     : "Fedora 28 (28) <fedora-28@fedoraproject.org>"
     Fingerprint: 128C F232 A937 1991 C8A6 5695 E08E 7E62 9DB6 2FB1
     From       : /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-28-x86_64
    I run an overnight script for my testing.
    What I do is a minimal workstation installation (GNOME),
    Then I run my script that:
    a) adds the "installation groups" that I want to have, with the benefit of their being installed after the reboot and admin login
    b) Lets me setup rpmfusion and to load other items (some gnome extensions), and some third party stuff.
    c) Lets me use the system ollowing the basic installation.
    d) Lets me setup the desktop settings for my needs
    e) Lets me establish my root crontab


    Here is what negative stuff I found.
    Device management crashes. (Had it happen for keyboard and for printer).
    User management went OK. Here is a gripe.
    With anaconda, when I create the admin user, I have the option of adding the admin to group users
    Not so for the independent (standard) user. I have to do that manually.
    Admin should be able to join a standard user to a group (eg, users).

    On the positive side
    gcc 8.1
    LIbreOffice 6.0
    Printer setup and printing is working. (It was not working with the daily F28 composes). It is still broken with Fedora 27.


    Interested in my script that I use for post installation. It's attached.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by lsatenstein; 29th March 2018 at 04:53 PM.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,114

    Re: updating f28 beta 1.3

    For the mesa stuff do sudo dnf update --best --allow This option should clear up the skipped items.

    Tonight, on a separate drive, I will be installing the KDE version of F28.
    The Gnome version seems to be OK for what I do with my desktop.

    What I have noticed with F28 and recent F27 updates is the introduction of automated reporting.

    When a Gnome software crashes, an automatic bugzilla report is generated. I am asked if I wish to upload a dump.
    I do that, but after the first time after that initial crash for the same reason, I just let the auto report go to bugzilla.

    This auto-report facility is the reason why the software is of improved quality.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,114

    Re: updating f28 beta 1.3

    I just completed 2 days of testing Fedora 28 Beta1-3. I tested the Gnome and KDE versions.
    My feedback
    KDE version --FAIL
    Gnome version -- Stay on Fedora 27. At least you can make use of the desktop.

    With a blank desktop design by Fedora 28, one asks the question, "Why do you have a desktop". Is it to look at background pictures?

    If I was to suggest a feature to GNOME it would be:
    Get rid of the favourites bar, and make the entire desktop the favourites bar.
    At the base of this favourites display, maintain the frequent/all buttons

    KDE Plasma has done something similar to what I suggest.

    My perception
    : With F28, since we can't make use of the desktop, the Gnome beta1.3 in my view is an alpha 1.0

    KDE network installation did not include Firefox. Even competing distributions provide firefox as an alternative browser. Other features for KDE plasma were not included (I chose every KDE option from the F28 network install ISO). Was this a "hurried build"?
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    632

    Re: updating f28 beta 1.3

    Quote Originally Posted by lsatenstein
    Gnome version -- Stay on Fedora 27. At least you can make use of the desktop.
    What were you doing with Gnome in F27 that's gone in F28??

    Other than the change in background art, my F28 desktop looks and feels the same as F27.
    I do modify the default by doing a "dnf install gnome-tweaks" and activate the application menu and places extensions.
    I haven't seen a difference, what is missing??

    OOps!! never mind the question I saw your earlier post. I use the "places" extension to accomplish a similar purpose with a drop down menu from the header ( I recognize its not the same as an icon on the desktop)
    Last edited by Kobuck; 6th April 2018 at 01:53 PM.
    Laptop: Toshiba / Intel B960 2.20Ghz x2/ 4GB/ 320GB SataII/ Intel HD/ fc28.x86_64
    Tower: GigaByte (970A) / AMD FX 8320 3.5Ghz x8/ 16GB/ 9TB Sata III/ AMD 6770HD/ fc28.x86_64
    Bookshelf: Shuttle DS61 (H61)/ i3-3225 3.3Ghz x2/ 16GB/ 320GB Sata II/ Intel HD 4000/ fc27.x86_64
    Embedded: BeagleBone Blk / ARM AM3358 1 GHz x1/ 512MB/ 2GB eMMC/ PowerVR SGX530/ fc27.armv7hl

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,114

    Re: updating f28 beta 1.3

    I do a lot of plugging and plugging of usb's, backup drives, etc, to the USB'S. F27 presented a popup to the desktop where I could see what it was I plugged in. Now I have to guess when the plugin got recognized, and then open up the files (Nautilus) program in order to check it's bookmarks for mounted drives.

    And then there is the trash icon which easily allows me to click on it and voila, my recovery or discard.
    The desktop allowed me to save multiple clicks, However I did create a mounted.desktop file with a suitable icon. I put that into the favourites list.
    One click directs me to /run/media/mylogon

    where I can see what is mounted.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    632

    Re: errors in updating f28 beta 1.3

    Hmmm.....

    My default Gnome setup provides a popup notification when a USB storage device is inserted. I don't know where its configuration control is located though.
    Laptop: Toshiba / Intel B960 2.20Ghz x2/ 4GB/ 320GB SataII/ Intel HD/ fc28.x86_64
    Tower: GigaByte (970A) / AMD FX 8320 3.5Ghz x8/ 16GB/ 9TB Sata III/ AMD 6770HD/ fc28.x86_64
    Bookshelf: Shuttle DS61 (H61)/ i3-3225 3.3Ghz x2/ 16GB/ 320GB Sata II/ Intel HD 4000/ fc27.x86_64
    Embedded: BeagleBone Blk / ARM AM3358 1 GHz x1/ 512MB/ 2GB eMMC/ PowerVR SGX530/ fc27.armv7hl

Similar Threads

  1. F19 problem updating google-chrome-beta
    By GoinEasy9 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th October 2013, 05:08 AM
  2. [SOLVED]
    Grub 2 beta 4 to beta 6
    By Hewjr100 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd August 2012, 01:44 AM
  3. Updating Alpha to Beta with Yum?
    By Perty in forum Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st March 2009, 06:20 PM
  4. F10 and Kde 4.2 beta
    By chepioq in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th December 2008, 08:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •