New to Linux
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

New to Linux

Hi everyone, Im completely new to Linux but still replaced my windows 8.1 with fedora workstation 27 this month. So far it looks wonderful. I have few questions though. Ive bought a book How Linux Works to learn about Linux. Is it a good start? And why Im seeing three fedora OS while it boots up? And last question is I see few error messages when my PC boots up/ shuts down. They dont seem to affect the performance so far & there is no time to go through them. Should I be worried about them? If I take pic of them & post here on, will anyone help me? Ill be highly grateful for any help. Its a steep learning but Im motivated.
    Thanks

Re: New to Linux

I'm not familiar with "How Linux Works", but when I was starting out with Linux about 20 years ago, I got a copy of "A Practical Guide to Linux" and I found it a helpful reference, and even now I might refer to it now and then, even though the details are not current. The "three fedora's" are the latest three versions of the kernel. Normally you boot with the most current, unless there is a problem. There are always some error messages in the boot process, and the majority are not significant. Some errors are corrected by other processes later in the boot sequence; if your system is working OK, the other errors can probably be ignored. You can post a pic here, and maybe someone can help, maybe not. It might be better (more legible) to capture in a file selected output from "dmesg" and/or "journalctl -xb" and post that file.