Setting up different servers at home
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community

Setting up different servers at home

Hi Friends,

I have been using Fedora since 2005. I taught myself how to install and use it and whenever I needed help, this forum provided me in a friendly manner. I am very grateful to all of you here.

I know some basic stuff about Fedora now, but I want to go further and set up a few servers at home with 4-5 old PCs that my group of friends (all Linux enthusiasts) can put together in order to accomplish the same. I have read a few Linux books and each book has a dedicated section about different types of servers, but despite going through them a number of times, I have never been able to achieve anything, which can be due to a number of reasons, including my being not so technically sound.

https://www.amazon.in/Fedora-Red-Hat...eywords=fedora

Maintain FTP, Web, mail, DNS, proxy, print, news, and database servers
    https://www.wiley.com/en-us/Linux+Bi...-9781118999875

Chapter 17: Configuring a Web Server 449 etc...
    Now my group is determined to learn all types of servers that can be set up at home with Fedora OS (Workstation/Server) for learning purposes. Be it e-mail server, web server, file server, FTP server etc. This may sound stupid, but we want to learn and teach Fedora to our local Linux group here and show them the power of Linux in general.

Out of the 4-5 PCs, one will a server and one would be a firewall. Others will become clients. I read somewhere that a physical PC can be configured to act as a firewall. Please correct me if I am wrong.