FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Cracow, Poland
    Posts
    6

    gnome-tweak-tool seems to be broken

    Hello, yesterday when I tried to run Gnome Tweaks I noticed that it is not working properly.
    Right after clicking on icon whole system freezes and only thing which I can do is restart.

    I tried to run
    Code:
    gnome-tweak-tool
    but it also hangs up the system without any message.
    I also tried reinstalling gnome-tweak-tool package, but with no result.
    All other packages are up-to-date and I have quite fresh fedora install.

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    72
    Posts
    23,478

    Re: gnome-tweak-tool seems to be broken

    Just to let you know that it's working fine for me; F27 - fully updated. Difficult to figure out when it's just hanging.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,161

    Re: gnome-tweak-tool seems to be broken

    Hi Roberto.
    Gnome-Tweak-Tool works fine for me on both my desktop and my laptop.

    When Gnome-Tweak-Tool locks up, open up a command-line session and run command top
    Is the first entry "gnome-shell", at 100% cpu ?

    If so, it is probably due to one of the Gnome extensions you installed. An extension is causing the problem.

    If the above is not the problem, from the command line.
    sudo dnf reinstall gnome-tweak-tool

    OR

    Another way to make sure, create a second non-admin user.
    log into the system with that user and try gnome-tweak-tool.
    If it locks up, the problem is not with an extension
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Cracow, Poland
    Posts
    6

    Re: gnome-tweak-tool seems to be broken

    Quote Originally Posted by lsatenstein
    If so, it is probably due to one of the Gnome extensions you installed. An extension is causing the problem.
    That's the point! After disabling all extensions, Tweaks started to work. Now it is easy to check which extension caused problems.
    Thank you for help!

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED]
    Gnome Tweak Tool - Help
    By Hunkah in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th March 2013, 09:38 PM
  2. [SOLVED]
    Gnome tweak tool
    By ImJello in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 9th October 2012, 11:02 PM
  3. Gnome Tweak Tool
    By tomkoskz in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th June 2012, 11:56 AM
  4. Gnome Tweak Tool
    By mrjoeyman in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd November 2011, 02:14 AM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th September 2011, 05:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •