FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    160

    how to use WPS push button on fedora

    Hi,

    I can't find out how to use WPS push button auto-connection on Fedora.

    There seems to be a way using wpa_cli wpa_pbc but this command fails to find wpa_supplicant on Fedora.

    I find a few discussions says how bad this router feature is and if my home router had it I would probably turn it off. However, that is NOT the question. I have a router I cannot reconfigure , this feature is present and I want to use it.

    There does not seem to be any way to trigger the protocol from NM and I can't find any proper info on how to do this on Fedora.

    Can anyone help me do this ?

    Thx

    BTW this also applies to wifi printers like HP which I think I did over the tel last year for someone else, but I can't remember how.
    Last edited by feddy; 6th December 2017 at 04:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    345

    Re: how to use WPS push button on fedora

    Quote Originally Posted by feddy
    Hi,
    There seems to be a way using wpa_cli wpa_pbc but this command fails to find wpa_supplicant on Fedora.
    wpa_cli must be run as root, or wpa_supplicant must be configured to allow non-root user access?
    Code:
    wpa_cli --help
    shows the wpa_pbc subcommand is there, though not documented on the man page.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    160

    Re: how to use WPS push button on fedora

    Quote Originally Posted by dswaner
    wpa_cli must be run as root, or wpa_supplicant must be configured to allow non-root user access?
    Code:
    wpa_cli --help
    shows the wpa_pbc subcommand is there, though not documented on the man page.
    but this command fails to find wpa_supplicant on Fedora.
    same thing happens as root:
    Code:
    Interactive mode
    
    Could not connect to wpa_supplicant: (nil) - re-trying

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    345

    Re: how to use WPS push button on fedora

    Same results here - can't get wpa_cli to connect for any subcommand, or for interactive mode. You could try turning on debugging for the network and for wpa_supplicant, and look in the journal. Or, file a bug report, and let the experts take a look. I had quick turn-around on a wpa_supplicant bug report not too long ago.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    345

    Re: how to use WPS push button on fedora

    Found this Red Hat bugzilla report, last updated August 10, 2017 - not encouraging:
    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=449211

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    160

    Re: how to use WPS push button on fedora

    Quote Originally Posted by dswaner
    Found this Red Hat bugzilla report, last updated August 10, 2017 - not encouraging:
    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=449211
    yes, that was about all I found too. It got closed "wont fix" by the robot in 2009 because it hit EOL for the Fedora version it was filed against . This seems to be what happens to most Fedora bugs !!

    The recent comment will not even get seen by devs because this is now closed. Looks like I'll have to open another one.

    Thanks for taking a look, at least it confirms that I'm not just missing something obvious. I'm surprised that there seems to be so little on this feature not being supported. Very many commercial routers have this ( security flawed ) WPS button. It is not going to get any more secure because linux users can't access it !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Havant
    Posts
    99

    Re: how to use WPS push button on fedora

    https://src.fedoraproject.org/user/leigh123linux
    https://github.com/leigh123linux
    https://admin.rpmfusion.org/pkgdb/packager/leigh123linux/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    160

    Re: how to use WPS push button on fedora

    thanks for the headsup. Great news that this will a working feature.

    I see there is already commits for 1.10.2 , any idea when 1.10 is likely to hit Fedora?

    thx

Similar Threads

  1. Can't push to testing
    By bjrosen in forum Programming & Packaging
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th June 2014, 08:01 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th May 2014, 12:53 AM
  3. GIT - after a push
    By LaKing in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th April 2010, 06:02 PM
  4. Unable to push data into Fedora DS
    By adliazaddin in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th August 2007, 08:49 AM
  5. Help. Push me in the right direction
    By Rick069 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th December 2006, 12:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •