FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,350

    32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    ...but will load centOS 6.

    At first I thought it was just because some were 64 bit, but I made a few 32 bit
    & for whatever reason, they are ignored. Any ideas as to WHY?
    (they all work fine on my 64 bit build)

    It's currently running XP.
    Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

    By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,397

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    this depends on the hardware concerned. is it pre-pentium 4 or amd k8?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    Good question... I'm gonna have to look & see what CPU it actually has. Unfortunately, I don't have access to it right now.
    I'll post it when I can get it. - to me, it's not that old. If I remember right, it was bought around the time that W7 came out.
    A google search says 2009, the one that actually owns the computer says it's going on 13 years old.
    Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

    By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    447

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    Did you try a Fedora Spin ? say Xfce or LXDE ?

    this could be a Wayland (Default GNOME) issue.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,397

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    Quote Originally Posted by bobx001
    Did you try a Fedora Spin ? say Xfce or LXDE ?

    this could be a Wayland (Default GNOME) issue.
    if the computer can't read and boot from a DVD it's irrelevant which desktop environment it contains

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    Here are the specs, as much as I could gather...
    Dell (yes, I know) inspiron 530
    CPU = intel pentium dual e2140 @1.6Mhz
    1G ram


    I tried another disc & no-go - could it be that the ones that do NOT want to load are burnt to re-writable media,
    whereas the one that will is not? - I'm gonna try that, when I get a chance.
    Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

    By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,397

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    well the as the system is modern enough to handle 64-bit instructions even if the RAM is low. potentially the DVD reader is not compatible with that brand or type of RW media. if you have a USB stick handy, try booting from that. the machine is from 2007 so potentially it should be able to do this.

    Also, if you can see grub, edit the boot command and take out rhgb quiet before allowing the computer to attempt booting. you should then see any error messages about potentially unsupported components.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    I think you may have just solved the mystery. I assumed (yeah, I know) that the optical disc drive was a DVD, but I'll bet it's a CD. I checked & the disc that WILL load IS CD, the rest are DVD's, either RW or R.
    So far, I have yet to find an image, other than net install, that would fit on CD.

    Unfortunately, this computer won't boot from USB (my own build won't either, so no surprise) so I'll have to figure out something else for a test of the OS to see if it will work.
    I plan on increasing the amount of RAM, too.

    Yeah, it IS weird that the specs for the CPU says it will handle 64 bit but the machine itself reports 32 bit - the fine print on the CPU specs says that some manufacturers may "lock" there systems at 32 bit, though. I guess this MAY be one of them. I'll know for sure as I delve into it further. For what it is used for, 32 bit is fine, but if it IS 64 I'd like to use that "power" as it would make the owner of the machine "happier" with it. Even though their activity is mostly web surfing.
    Last edited by Chilly Willy; 10th December 2017 at 07:33 PM.
    Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

    By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    behind that screen...
    Posts
    939

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilly Willy
    I think you may have just solved the mystery. I assumed (yeah, I know) that the optical disc drive was a DVD, but I'll bet it's a CD. I checked & the disc that WILL load IS CD, the rest are DVD's, either RW or R.
    So far, I have yet to find an image, other than net install, that would fit on CD.

    Unfortunately, this computer won't boot from USB (my own build won't either, so no surprise) so I'll have to figure out something else for a test of the OS to see if it will work.
    I plan on increasing the amount of RAM, too.

    Yeah, it IS weird that the specs for the CPU says it will handle 64 bit but the machine itself reports 32 bit - the fine print on the CPU specs says that some manufacturers may "lock" there systems at 32 bit, though. I guess this MAY be one of them. I'll know for sure as I delve into it further. For what it is used for, 32 bit is fine, but if it IS 64 I'd like to use that "power" as it would make the owner of the machine "happier" with it. Even though their activity is mostly web surfing.
    Interesting, I wonder why the images keep getting bigger and bigger.

    Maybe you want to try centos 6. You should be able to fit it in a cd.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    No clue as to why the images are bigger, other than more lines of code to do the same things
    As for OS, I'm wanting FEDORA. I DID find some old images in my download I can try...
    Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

    By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,397

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilly Willy
    No clue as to why the images are bigger, other than more lines of code to do the same things
    As for OS, I'm wanting FEDORA. I DID find some old images in my download I can try...
    according to the Inspiron 530 user manual it should however boot from USB drive (giving scope for a LIVE media rather than netinstall ISO) if you insert the drive before you power on the system and press F12 to bring up the boot options menu

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    Well it's worth a try...

    Thanks
    Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

    By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    I haven't been able to work on THIS computer, as I've been working on my own.
    But I've finished mine & plan to see if I can get this one.

    My health is screwed up right now & that hinders me greatly at times, too.
    Post results ASAP.
    Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

    By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,397

    Re: 32 bit computer doesn't see FEDORA live discs...

    there's no rush, always put your health first. If you're doing this as a favour to someone they will understand it taking a while longer.

Similar Threads

  1. 32 bit live discs?
    By Chilly Willy in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th November 2017, 10:49 PM
  2. Can't get Fedora 19 Xfce Live CD to boot on one computer
    By ToddAndMargo in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th January 2014, 10:21 PM
  3. Fedora 10 live cd doesn't detect my usb external drive
    By ONElikeGOD in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th June 2009, 05:56 AM
  4. Fedora 8 Live CD doesn't seem to hve software
    By sidebrnz in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th December 2007, 08:04 PM
  5. Fedora doesn't get detected by computer boot
    By Woah G! in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 19th April 2006, 01:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •