FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    367

    Install selected a subvolume.. now what.

    Hello everyone.
    I'm using btrfs for my /home , and after installing F27 from scratch, I did not format /home.
    Apparently anaconda has picked a subvolume of home and I have been using it like this for a few weeks..
    I am not sure if I can remove the subvolid= clause without losing data..

    Here is the system-generated /etc/fstab:
    UUID=2f5908d1-626d-474e-966a-aeb77f123ce0 /home btrfs subvolid=5 0 0

    In my previous installation the "subvolid=" clause did not exist, it was just
    UUID=2f5908d1-626d-474e-966a-aeb77f123ce0 /home btrfs defaults,space_cache,noatime 0 0

    I'm worried about removing the "subvolid=5"

    Should I be?
    Thanks! -t

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16

    Re: Install selected a subvolume.. now what.

    No, the 2 lines are equivalent. subvolid=5 is the "root" subvolume. This subvolume cannot be removed and is mounted by default.

    The missing options space_cache, noatime may cause some effect, but nothing to worry about.

    Greetings,
    Bequimão
    Last edited by Bequimao; 27th November 2017 at 12:52 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    367

    Re: Install selected a subvolume.. now what.

    Ah! Many thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    4,606

    Re: Install selected a subvolume.. now what.

    If you are using a SSD, it's recommended to use noatime, with the defaults.
    And if using gnome, there is a requirement to have nocow for ~/.config/dconf/user

    As follows - user is not logged in:

    # cd /home/user_name/.config
    # mv dconf dconf.old
    # mkdir dconf
    # chattr +C dconf
    # chown user_name.group_name dconf

    Then login and Gnome will create a new file .config/dconf/user . chattr on a existing file won't work.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

Similar Threads

  1. Move btrfs subvolume to new drive help
    By stratacast1 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd February 2017, 05:27 PM
  2. Best way to install to subvolume of already existing BTRFS filesystem?
    By Azendale in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th November 2011, 07:06 PM
  3. BTRFS Subvolume of Home?
    By Timberbrook in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th November 2011, 02:20 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd June 2011, 09:29 AM
  5. Minimal install instead of what was selected.
    By zivag in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th August 2004, 09:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •