FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Havant
    Posts
    32

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    What are you lot using all that CPU power for?, My fx8350 is capable of running 2 or 3 Vm's and doing builds + browsing or watching media at the same time.
    SSD is OK, NVMe is much faster even with PCIe gen2.

    Code:
    System:    Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 4.14.0-1.fc28.x86_64 x86_64
               bits: 64 gcc: 7.2.1
               Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.2 (Gtk 3.22.26) dm: lightdm
               Distro: Fedora release 28 (Rawhide)
    Machine:   Device: desktop System: Gigabyte product: N/A serial: N/A
               Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-990X-Gaming SLI-CF v: x.x serial: N/A
               BIOS: American Megatrends v: F1 date: 01/28/2016
               Chassis: type: 3 serial: N/A
    Battery    hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh volts: NA
               model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M525 serial: <filter>status: Discharging
    CPU:       Octa core AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core (-MCP-)
               arch: Bulldozer rev.0 cache: 16384 KB
               
               flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 72333
               clock speeds: min/max: 1400/4500 MHz 1: 1400 MHz 2: 1400 MHz
               3: 1400 MHz 4: 4500 MHz 5: 1400 MHz 6: 1400 MHz 7: 1400 MHz
               8: 1400 MHz
    Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GK106 [GeForce GTX 660]
               bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:11c0
               Display Server: x11 (X.org 119.5 )
               drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
               Resolution: 3840x2160@60.00hz
               OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 660/PCIe/SSE2
               version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 387.22 Direct Render: Yes
    Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GK106 HDMI Audio Controller
               driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0e0b
               Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
               driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2 chip-ID: 1002:4383
               Sound: ALSA v: k4.14.0-1.fc28.x86_64
    Network:   Card: Intel Wireless 7260
               driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:08b1
               IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
    Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3884.8GB (13.8% used)
               ID-1: /dev/sda model: SAMSUNG_SSD_830 size: 128.0GB
               serial: <filter>
               ID-2: /dev/sdb model: Samsung_SSD_850 size: 500.1GB
               serial: <filter>
               ID-3: /dev/sdc model: WDC_WD30EZRX size: 3000.6GB
               serial: <filter>
               ID-4: /dev/nvme0n1 model: SAMSUNG_MZVLW256HEHP size: 256.1GB
               serial: <filter> firmware: CXB7401Q
    Partition: ID-1: / size: 40G used: 22G (57%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p5
               ID-2: swap-1 size: 18.52GB used: 0.00GB (0%)
               fs: swap dev: /dev/sdc4
    RAID:      System: supported: N/A
               No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
               Unused Devices: none
    Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 12.8C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:45C
               Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
    Repos:     Active yum sources in file: /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-rawhide-kernel-nodebug.repo
               fedora-rawhide-kernel-nodebug ~ https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/rawhide-kernel-nodebug/$basearch
               Active yum sources in file: /etc/yum.repos.d/skype-stable.repo
               skype-stable ~ https://repo.skype.com/rpm/stable/
    Info:      Processes: 261 Uptime: 11:05 Memory: 2935.3/16009.6MB
               Init: systemd v: 235 runlevel: 5 default: graphical.target
               Gcc sys: 7.2.1
               Client: Shell (upload-system-i running in cinnamon-settin) inxi: 2.3.43
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	00-45-08.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	122.0 KB 
ID:	29192  
    https://src.fedoraproject.org/user/leigh123linux
    https://github.com/leigh123linux
    https://admin.rpmfusion.org/pkgdb/packager/leigh123linux/

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    behind that screen...
    Posts
    934

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123linux
    What are you lot using all that CPU power for?, My fx8350 is capable of running 2 or 3 Vm's and doing builds + browsing or watching media at the same time.
    SSD is OK, NVMe is much faster even with PCIe gen2.
    Same. Running a few VMs. I actually have a bulldozer processor too. But I think is time for an upgrade, plus I always pass the CPU and Mobo to the little brother. He will be getting an upgrade from a Phenom II 4 core to an 8 core. That's a good upgrade for him, I think.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    US
    Posts
    31

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123linux
    What are you lot using all that CPU power for?, My fx8350 is capable of running 2 or 3 Vm's and doing builds + browsing or watching media at the same time.
    Very good point!

    As I predicated in my initial post, I was perfectly happy with my (FX 8350 + RX 480)--UNTIL I switched to this Ryzen 7 1700 machine (along with RX 550).

    Again, as I mentioned prior, the main factor is Costco's price. I "think" I was also interested in trying the new AM4 chipset.

    I am very thrifty on everything else. As an enthusiastic (but very disappointed) amd supporter for so many years, this is a total vindication. $599 bought me a lot of happiness; worth every penny!

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    876

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    What are you lot using all that CPU power for?, My fx8350 is capable of running 2 or 3 Vm's and doing builds + browsing or watching media at the same time.
    My VM performance was sadly lacking in my old system. I had bought an fx8350 + 990FXA-UD5 motherboard + 32G of ram awhile back, but couldn't get the motherboard to work with the processor. Stuck a Phenom x4 in it and it worked fine, so wasn't the MB... But the VM performance was lacking. So when Ryzen was released, jumped on it. Glad I did. Low power, runs cooler, and VMs run acceptably on it. For everything else the old processor was good enough. Besides the VMs, I use it for programming (I am a programmer by trade) cross/native compiling, browsing, and video mainly. Of course, the other reason is ,,, I plainly like to build a new system! Fun to try out some new hardware now and then. Next up will be a 500G SSD for /home data. Right now /home sits on a 1TB HDD, but you can noticeably feel the lag when loading VMs from it (See, THAT'S a problem once you get 'used' to SSD speeds!!! ) . Yep ... just for 'fun'. OS is on 256G SSD. BTW, I am not a gamer (in sense it is defined now). Never have been. Played a few back in school days when space invaders/pacman/defender was 'cool'. Recall playing a little Chess, Tetris, Pinball over the years. That's about it.
    Last edited by rclark; 19th November 2017 at 12:24 AM.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    US
    Posts
    31

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    I actually had planned to build my own Ryzen system, but this CPU was just too new. Costco has an excellent return polity. But the sale price was an overriding factor.

    WRT VM, I have not run VM on this machine yet. But I have been migrating all my vm's (VirtualBox 5.1.x) to a 128 GB SanDisk Extreme Pro. The difference over an HD is almost that bt day and night.

    But I am most looking forward to the Ryzen Mobil hybrid chips so I replace all my Intel notebooks.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    behind that screen...
    Posts
    934

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    Well black Friday is almost here. I noticed a drop in prices for AMD. But the Intel has not drop...
    I have always stick with AMD/ATI and I wanted to try a Intel/Nvidia for a change...

    I'll keep my eyes opened

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,284

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    All I'm really after is a new gamepad. Probably another XBox 360 wired or wireless with USB receiver but I'm considering a Logitech F710 instead. They are all roughly the same price at the moment.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    4,499

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    With my ddr2 system and 8 gigs ram, It is faster for me to use a spare drive and do a proper installation thereon. Running vm on my system (ram is at 835mhz) is sloooww. I could go for coffee before getting good useful results.

    As it is now, I am awaiting the post office for delivery of my 1700. It should arrive on Monday. Amazon tells me it was shipped.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    876

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    But I have been migrating all my vm's (VirtualBox 5.1.x) to a 128 GB SanDisk Extreme Pro. The difference over an HD is almost that bt day and night.
    You are sooo o right! This morning before work I rsync'ed my /home HDD to an available 256G SSD I had hanging around. There was only 56G of data to move. At lunch, I did a quick change-out. Wow, it is like day and night. VMs snap right up, apps load quick under the VM. No going back now!!!!

    Only thing I have going on that I have to figure out with Fedora is when I pull up a terminal it goes to / rather than /home/rclark now. Permissions all look ok. fstab looks ok. /home/rclark exists, data is all there... cd ~ goes to the right place. Anyway, chase this tonight...

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    4,499

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    Hi RC

    My Ryzen 1700 needs a motherboard. Are you satisfied with the one you selected? Would you have chosen another? And as for Ram memory, would you have made some changes there too?
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    876

    Re: Running Fedora 26 in Ryzen 7 1700

    I am satisfied with my GIGABYTE GA-AB350-GAMING 3 motherboard. I wanted a mid tier board and this fit the bill. Looking 'long' term, I maybe should have went with a X370 chipset MB (I think a read of Linux Support problems with this chip set however) rather than the B350, but what I use the system for probably makes no difference. Gigabyte boards have worked for me .. so far. I know there are lemons out there though. As for memory, yes, make double sure it is completely compatible with Ryzen. Also don't do, like me, and get 32G all at once. Buy at most 16G and see how it works first! That's my opinion. Also I was in a hurry and bought 2133 speed DDR4. Didn't notice until I got it. Next time I'll research a bit more, spend more time looking before pressing the buy button! I'd also try to get closer to the 3000 speed capable RAM. Just a couple of thoughts....
    Last edited by rclark; 21st November 2017 at 10:54 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Install Ryzen 7 1700 with Fedora 26
    By nobody in forum F26 Development Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 5th June 2017, 05:51 PM
  2. Ryzen first experiences SUSE user has Ryzen
    By lsatenstein in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd April 2017, 08:50 PM
  3. Install Ryzen 1700 with Fedora 25
    By samphar in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th March 2017, 06:18 AM
  4. XP Pro & Fedora 8 on Dell Vostro 1700
    By Crazyman1 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 26th April 2008, 07:03 AM
  5. FC3 Newbie - Compaq Armada 1700 - Fan not running... WHY?
    By dataware in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th July 2005, 08:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •