FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community

Couldn't install Fedora 26 from usb

Hi guys!!

I've been using Fedora for more than 8 years now, and I've always been super mega fun of it. However, I tried to install Fedora 26 from the live version (usb) and it didn't work. I don't understand it. It's pretty weird because the usb version always flies, but when I try to install it, it becomes very very slow. It takes ages to go from one step to the next, and then when I try to claim more space, it just doesn't work, it doesn't let me proceed. So I got stock. I was using Fedora 25 and wanted to upgrade, but from scratch, because my laptop was running very slow.
    Anyone with this problem? Thanks!

Re: Couldn't install Fedora 26 from usb

It is possible that the iso is corrupt. Run a checksum on the iso (sudo sha256sum /path/to/iso), then compare the results with the checksum that fedora shows on the download page of that particular iso.

There is also a bug with anaconda (installer) which occurs if you are using a customized iso. Did you create the iso using livemedia-creator? If not then don't worry about the bug. An uncorrupted iso should allow you to install fedora on your system.

You might also want to test your RAM memory (reboot and choose "Memtest86+" on the grub menu -- it is usually the last entry in the menu).

I don't think it's a problem with the iso. I have checked the checksum and it was ok. I wasn't a cusmozided iso. And I don't think it was a Ram problem, since I was able to install Lubuntu from usb live version. Not idea. I guess I'll wait until the next Fedora Version. Thanks anyway!

cheluna wrote:
    I've been using Fedora for more than 8 years now, and I've always been super mega fun of it. However, I tried to install Fedora 26 from the live version (usb) and it didn't work.