FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Romanshorn
    Posts
    324

    dnf default -y

    When I install something I want to install something. I don't understand why the default is [yN] How do I change this to [Yn]?
    GNU/Linux user since 1997
    Arch on homebuild NAS
    F20 on a Lenovo T430S (2355C19) w Ericsson e5321 Broadband modem
    F20 lost against Win10
    Windows 10 on a Lenovo Yoga900s.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,628

    Re: dnf default -y

    You could try adding the config: assumeyes=True to /etc/dnf/dnf.conf

  3. #3
    bob's Avatar
    bob is online now Administrator (yeah, back again)
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    72
    Posts
    23,340

    Re: dnf default -y

    Simply, "dnf install packagename" without using the "y" will list not only the package but also the dependencies so you can see if you want to install them. For instance, if you're running Gnome and want to install a KDE package, you're going to install a ton of other KDE packages as dependencies.

    So, once you have the list, then you're prompted to either use the "y" or "n" to agree or to dump it.

    Edit: Or, I'll bet that nsnbm already answered your question...
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,606

    Re: dnf default -y

    Probably not a good idea to have dnf default to yes.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    4,494

    Re: dnf default -y

    Or if you truly want that Y as default

    yes | dnf upgrade

    Danger of upgrading some piece of software that you really didn't want
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Romanshorn
    Posts
    324

    Re: dnf default -y

    Quote Originally Posted by nsnbm
    You could try adding the config: assumeyes=True to /etc/dnf/dnf.conf
    Thanks

    (I would have left it like that, but the board thinks the answer is to short, therefor:

    I would like to express my sincere thanks, nsnbm! It is because of people like you the internet is a better place and we all could take a page from you book.
    Hoping that all is well with you and this message meets you in good health.)
    GNU/Linux user since 1997
    Arch on homebuild NAS
    F20 on a Lenovo T430S (2355C19) w Ericsson e5321 Broadband modem
    F20 lost against Win10
    Windows 10 on a Lenovo Yoga900s.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,628

    Re: dnf default -y

    Thank you for a most gracious reply, though I'm not sure I merit such, but I try.

Similar Threads

  1. Changing the default monitor (not just the user default)
    By mightyvoid in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th January 2014, 02:09 AM
  2. How to get kde as default?
    By looksalot in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th July 2007, 11:39 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16th December 2005, 05:08 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th December 2005, 01:42 PM
  5. Default sink works, default source doesn't, Intel 845Gv2
    By Andy_Lapham in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st April 2005, 06:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •