FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    alaska
    Posts
    33

    Red face The "Air Force One" problem

    Code:
    [justina@localhost ~]$ dnf info cockpit
    Fedora 26 - x86_64 - Updates     289 kB/s |  16 MB     00:54    
    Fedora 26 - x86_64               192 kB/s |  53 MB     04:43    
    Last metadata expiration check: 0:00:52 ago on Thu 12 Oct 2017 03:15:53 PM AKDT.
    Available Packages
    Name         : cockpit
    Version      : 151
    Release      : 2.fc26
    Arch         : x86_64
    Size         : 59 k
    Source       : cockpit-151-2.fc26.src.rpm
    Repo         : updates
    Summary      : A user interface for Linux servers
    URL          : http://cockpit-project.org/
    License      : LGPLv2+
    Description  : Cockpit runs in a browser and can manage your network of GNU/Linux
                 : machines.
    
    [justina@localhost ~]$
    i just want to smack someone especially this part:

    Code:
    Description  : Cockpit runs in a browser and can manage your network of GNU/Linux
                 : machines.
    i just want to smack someone again

    and the "cockpit.service" running on some "systemd" abomination of what is supposed to be inetd, and continues to listen on port 9090 even after the "cockpit" systemd service is stopped, disabled, and uninstalled.

    ssh is much more secure, and actually usable over slow networks such as the one i am using right now way out in the middle of nowhere interior alaska

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    /
    Posts
    5,102

    Re: The "Air Force One" problem

    Is there a problem with the package or application in general?

    I do not see a question in the post above ...
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Sager | Intel Core i7 - 4810 MQ | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M | 16 GB RAM | 480 GB ADATA SSD |
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Dell Precision M4800 | Intel Core i7 - 4900 MQ | NVIDIA Quadro K1100M | 16 GB RAM | 750 GB 7200 RPM HDD |


    The Linux Documentation Project | Fedora Documentation

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Re: The "Air Force One" problem

    What's the problem? Are you questioning why anyone would want a graphical view of their hosts performance etc?

    I wasn't aware of cockpit until this thread, it actually looks quite nice although it looks a bit basic for something started in 2014.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    alaska
    Posts
    33

    Unhappy Re: The "Air Force One" problem

    Quote Originally Posted by HaydnH
    I wasn't aware of cockpit until this thread
    thats the problem. installed by default. opened up a port for remote access and control i was unaware of. while some dude is monitoring the performance of his hosts on cockpit, the spyware, adware, malware, worms, trojans, and viruses that have taken over his m$ windoze desktop are monitoring a botnet sending out spam and feeding him false statistics

    systemd is part of the same problem. the ++++ have microsofted over the whole linux eco-system

  5. #5
    bob's Avatar
    bob is online now Administrator (yeah, back again)
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    72
    Posts
    23,359

    Re: The "Air Force One" problem

    Justin, please review the Posting Rules. We are not going to allow posts containing political opinions, etc. Thread edited.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Re: The "Air Force One" problem

    Quote Originally Posted by justinacolmena
    thats the problem. installed by default. opened up a port for remote access and control i was unaware of.
    On my Fedora 26, cockpit isn't even installed let alone allowing any form of remote access by default.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    /
    Posts
    5,102

    Re: The "Air Force One" problem

    Thread moved to Fedora Focus since there seems to no questions raised, just generic statements.
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Sager | Intel Core i7 - 4810 MQ | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M | 16 GB RAM | 480 GB ADATA SSD |
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Dell Precision M4800 | Intel Core i7 - 4900 MQ | NVIDIA Quadro K1100M | 16 GB RAM | 750 GB 7200 RPM HDD |


    The Linux Documentation Project | Fedora Documentation

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    68
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: The "Air Force One" problem

    Quote Originally Posted by justinacolmena
    thats the problem. installed by default...
    Please note, that dnf info says that it's available, not installed. That means it's not present on your system unless you specifically install it, and judging by what I can see, you haven't.
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st November 2011, 04:09 AM
  2. How to "really really" force graphical mode in Anaconda (Fedora 14)?
    By d0gf in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th February 2011, 02:16 AM
  3. Samba "force group" not working
    By szilagyic in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th November 2009, 03:33 AM
  4. Yumex "Force i386 architecture" option gone
    By jcliburn in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1st August 2006, 01:50 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd May 2005, 04:59 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •