FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    here
    Posts
    22

    user@192

    Hi,

    I use F25 with the network disabled by default at start. When I start a shell it opens on user@localhost as it should but once I start the network every new shell opens on user@192 ??

    Could anybody explain to me what could happened or where to look ?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,638

    Re: user@192

    Looks like it's replacing "localhost" with the IP address. You can control what the prompt looks like with a configuration which you write into .bash_profile. Giving your computer a name other than "localhost" might also make a difference, but I haven't checked that.

    On a computer here there's
    Code:
    PS1="[\u@\h \W]$ "
    in the .bash_profile which produces a prompt with the user (\u), hostname (\h), and the basename of the current directory (\W). See man bash for the details.

    You can change the name of the computer using the hostnamectl command, that'll control the \h part.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    here
    Posts
    22

    Re: user@192

    I wasn't aware of that command : it did the trick.
    Thanks a lot !

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to access phpMyAdmin from my browser? Root user denied and regular user as we
    By cyberdome in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th March 2016, 05:28 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th March 2010, 08:12 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th October 2008, 10:46 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •