Update intel microcode
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [Solved] Update intel microcode

    Hello,

    Is there a way to update microcode on F27 ?
    I have a starting error on f27 :
    [ 0.000000] [Firmware Bug]: TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata; please update microcode to version: 0x22 (or later)

    CPU : Intel 4770K.

    thanks
    Last edited by farika; 30th September 2017 at 11:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    Hi,

    It should happen automatically, e.g. microcode_ctl package contains microcode revisions that should be picked up by kernel on boot. New microcode should be located in /lib/firmware.

    The other way of doing it is by updating motherboard firmware if it is available.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    Hi,

    Unfortunately no... I have installed microcode_ctl package, but my microcode isn't updated.
    I don't have any motherboard update...

    [ 0.000000] [Firmware Bug]: TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata; please update microcode to version: 0x22 (or later)
    [ 0.857926] microcode: sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x1c
    [ 0.858167] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.2.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    If you didn't have the package installed previously, it is possible that you just need to rebuild initramfs, not sure how it works. You can try to upload the code manually, from the releasenote file, following should work. Keep in mind that the microcode needs to be re-uploaded on every boot, though.

    Code:
    # echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload
    Intel Processor Microcode Package for Linux
    20170707 Release

    -- New Platforms --
    KBL H0 (06-8e-09:c0) 62
    KBL Y0 (06-8e-0a:c0) 66
    KBL B0 (06-9e-09:2a) 5e
    SKX H0 (06-55-04:97) 2000022

    -- Microcode update instructions --
    This package contains Intel microcode files in two formats:
    * microcode.dat
    * intel-ucode directory

    microcode.dat is in a traditional text format. It is still used in some
    Linux distributions. It can be updated to the system through the old microcode
    update interface which is avaialble in the kernel with
    CONFIG_MICROCODE_OLD_INTERFACE=y.

    To update the microcode.dat to the system, one need:
    1. Ensure the existence of /dev/cpu/microcode
    2. Write microcode.dat to the file, e.g.
    dd if=microcode.dat of=/dev/cpu/microcode bs=1M

    intel-ucode dirctory contains binary microcode files named in
    family-model-stepping pattern. The file is supported in most modern Linux
    distributions. It's generally located in the /lib/firmware directory,
    and can be updated throught the microcode reload interface.

    To update the intel-ucode package to the system, one need:
    1. Ensure the existence of /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload
    2. Copy intel-ucode directory to /lib/firmware, overwrite the files in
    /lib/firmware/intel-ucode/
    3. Write the reload interface to 1 to reload the microcode files, e.g.
    echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    Working !

    Solved.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    Great! It would be nice if you provided an solution on how did you solved it

    Did some more research, apparently dracut in Fedora includes generated microcode cpio archive at the beginning of initramfs image so that it can be loaded first before any unpacking of initramfs is done.

    Code:
    $ sudo lsinitrd /boot/initramfs-4.12.13-200.fc25.x86_64.img | head 
    Image: /boot/initramfs-4.12.13-200.fc25.x86_64.img: 18M
    ========================================================================
    Early CPIO image
    ========================================================================
    drwxr-xr-x   3 root     root            0 Aug 11 14:23 .
    -rw-r--r--   1 root     root            2 Aug 11 14:23 early_cpio
    drwxr-xr-x   3 root     root            0 Aug 11 14:23 kernel
    drwxr-xr-x   3 root     root            0 Aug 11 14:23 kernel/x86
    drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root            0 Aug 11 14:23 kernel/x86/microcode
    -rw-r--r--   1 root     root        12288 Aug 11 14:23 kernel/x86/microcode/GenuineIntel.bin
    https://lists.fedoraproject.org/arch...X2BPCBH4JHWUT/

    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/QA:Te...crocode_update

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    i've tried a dracut -fv but isn't enough.

    I've downloaded the microcode folder : https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...code-Data-File

    And done this part :
    To update the microcode.dat to the system, one need:
    1. Ensure the existence of /dev/cpu/microcode
    2. Write microcode.dat to the file, e.g.
    dd if=microcode.dat of=/dev/cpu/microcode bs=1M

    intel-ucode dirctory contains binary microcode files named in
    family-model-stepping pattern. The file is supported in most modern Linux
    distributions. It's generally located in the /lib/firmware directory,
    and can be updated throught the microcode reload interface.

    To update the intel-ucode package to the system, one need:
    1. Ensure the existence of /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload
    2. Copy intel-ucode directory to /lib/firmware, overwrite the files in
    /lib/firmware/intel-ucode/
    3. Write the reload interface to 1 to reload the microcode files, e.g.
    echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload

    And another dracut -fv at the end...

    Working.
    [ 0.000000] microcode: microcode updated early to revision 0x22, date = 2017-01-27

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    So that is a bit strange, when you say you've done this part, there are actually two methods listed of doing it, where only one should be needed. One of them seems to be obsolete and not included in Fedora package.

    microcode.dat file is not included microcode_ctl package, because it seems it is obsolete method of doing it. Furthermore

    dd if=microcode.dat of=/dev/cpu/microcode bs=1M
    and
    echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload
    should not have an impact on fixing it since both commands should just upload the firmware file to a volatile memory.

    Files under /lib/firmware/intel-ucode/ should be the same as upstream since package contains microcode-20170707.tgz tarball. So the only difference seems to be that there is no microcode.dat file. If you indeed need this file, then maybe there is a bug somewhere that should be reported.

    https://pagure.io/microcode_ctl/tree...ed480ef863af3a

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Malaysia
    Age
    23
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    not sure why but recent images from live respins and rawhide won't update automatically to the latest microcode version

    the original f26 live image works fine
    https://github,com/truboxl

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Over the rainbow
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    I've got the same problem.

    I am using Fedora Rawhide Live (created with Fedora Media Writer) on a Medion S6417.

    But when following the instructions from #7 dd does not work because of Invalid argument and cp is not persisted over reboot even after dracut. So what to do?

    By the way: F26 boots just fine.

    Maybe this Linux Kernel Documentation Commit helps a little on what needs to be done.
    Last edited by Chatty; 12th October 2017 at 09:07 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Malaysia
    Age
    23
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    Looks like its bug report worthy
    Code:
    # echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload
    does what it does, but you have to do it manually everytime sux

    Throw in the mix, I'm using i5-4200U
    Looks like it affects Haswell (so far?)...
    https://github,com/truboxl

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Over the rainbow
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Update intel microcode

    I reported is as bug #1501362.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd February 2011, 03:42 AM
  2. Intel cpu microcode update...delay
    By ryptyde in forum Fedora 13 Development Branch
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th February 2010, 03:48 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th January 2010, 12:20 PM
  4. scientific linux: intel microcode failure
    By pcandpc in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th September 2007, 04:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •