FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    11

    Having two desktops

    I am trying to find a way to have two desktops on Fedora.

    Reason being, I put all my stuff on the desktop (folders, files etc), so I use my desktop a little bit like a mind-map.

    Right now I have two separate users, so I can have two separate desktops (personal/work).

    I know that nautilus draws the desktop. Is there a way to keep two desktops? I can switch workspace, but that's for open programs - i want to be able to do something similar for icons.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    72

    Re: Having two desktops

    I don't understand what you want to achieve.
    If you want to view the files from the other user, you can make some symbolic links.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    2,682

    Re: Having two desktops

    I think what you are asking is it possible for Nautilus to display a different set of icons depending on which workspace is displayed.
    Given that the Gnomes seem to think that any icons on the desktop is a silly idea, I doubt that you will find an answer using Gnome and Nautilus.
    Perhaps someone knows of an application that can do this ??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    11

    Re: Having two desktops

    The idea is to have tow separate desktops: one for work items, the other one for personal items, without having two accounts.

    To give you an example, if you open an app, say firefox, then switch workspace (ctrtl-alt-arrow down) and open another application, every time you switch workspace, you only see the apps open in that workspace.

    I need the same thing, but for icons, not open apps. Problem is, nautilus only draws one desktop.
    Last edited by pierods; 12th September 2017 at 03:14 PM. Reason: typo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Northeast USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    1,345

    Re: Having two desktops

    Google didn't pull up anything, though I only checked it quickly.

    You may have to place folders on the desktop, and then open a different folder in each of the desktops?
    Linux provides freedom, the problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it.
    My Blog | Danbury Area Computer Society Board Member | Linux User# : 477531
    p.s. Anybody who sees I am incorrect in technical procedures, etc., please feel free to correct me. I'm just figuring this out as I go along. :D

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    526

    Re: Having two desktops

    Couldn't you switch to a different console with ctrl+alt+F2, login as the work/home user and start a new X session there? Then you'd have 2 completely different sessions you can switch between with ctrl+alt+F1 or ctrl+alt+F2.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Al Ain, UAE
    Posts
    735

    Re: Having two desktops

    Well, pretty much any other desktop can do that. For example, KDE, XFCE and LXDE all have ways to do that.
    --
    Have fun!
    http://www.aeronetworks.ca

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    526

    Re: Having two desktops

    Did you solve this?

Similar Threads

  1. What Desktops do you use?
    By FedoraLinuxKid in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 71
    Last Post: 29th January 2013, 02:32 AM
  2. desktops
    By davewilliams in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th October 2005, 03:11 PM
  3. desktops help
    By SaCeR in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th June 2005, 04:17 PM
  4. Very-Low-End desktops :-)
    By asmodanus in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th January 2005, 03:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •