FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    23

    Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    Hi comrades,

    I am new to Linux, I have configured Fedora 25 under Oracle Virtual Box to the way I like it, it took my considerable time to install apps and tweak the desktop.

    In fact I like it so much that I would like to clone this machine on two other laptops. One of them is Asus and another is Apple Mac Book Air. I do not want to go through same process of configuring base image. Also I want these to be local installations, not VMs. On Asus this will be an only OS available and on Mac Book Air I would like to have an option to boot into MAC OS or Linux.

    Please advise the best way to port this VM to two other laptops as local installs.


    Any help will be appreciated.
    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,270

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    I'm not sure you can because of hardware differences involved. An Oracle VM install works like a bare metal install in that it will detect available hardware (using virtual acceleration or faked by the VM software) during installation phase and setup the kernel modules accordingly.

    Maybe someone else knows how it could be made to work but as far as I'm aware it would be unstable at best if it ran at all.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    23

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    I'm not sure you can because of hardware differences involved. An Oracle VM install works like a bare metal install in that it will detect available hardware (using virtual acceleration or faked by the VM software) during installation phase and setup the kernel modules accordingly.

    Maybe someone else knows how it could be made to work but as far as I'm aware it would be unstable at best if it ran at all.

    I see, what you've said makes total sense to me. During installation it is indeed should detect hardware and install modules accordingly.

    Thank you for your reply.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Al Ain, UAE
    Posts
    2,007

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    Well, reinstalling only takes about 30 minutes, vs hours and hours learning how to do it any other way...

    The proper way to do what you want is to make a kickstart file listing the packages on your master machine and then replicate it onto any new machine. Kickstart will then install the required drivers and the same packages:
    http://www.aeronetworks.ca/2014/06/r...nes-using.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    23

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    Quote Originally Posted by ramzes777
    I see, what you've said makes total sense to me. During installation it is indeed should detect hardware and install modules accordingly.

    Thank you for your reply.

    You are correct re-installation does not take long, its the packages that you've installed and desktop configuration, that takes long, besides hard to remember all of the settings and tweaks you've made that seem to work so nicely

    Kickstart, sounds just what I need. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    72

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    You can copy user's configs by copying home's .* [dot] files and directories into external memory

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    23

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    Thank you everyone for suggestions, I've found my answer.
    Do I need to mark this thread as resolved? If so, how ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    72

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    Use the 'thread tools' at the top of the thread.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,614

    Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

    If VirtualBox installation uses the same kernel, just making the partitions and then cloning the files with rsync for example on the disk should do it. All there is left to do then is to install and configure grub so that it can boot the kernel.

    If you decide to that be aware to use appropriate flags for rsync, so that it copies all metadata as well. From my notes "rsync -avAX -H --numeric-ids".

    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/GRUB_2

Similar Threads

  1. cloning partition
    By billcu in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th July 2015, 11:58 PM
  2. cloning F15 to a larger HDD
    By d3m3tr1x in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th September 2011, 08:13 AM
  3. Cloning for a newbi
    By TheFox in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st May 2010, 12:02 PM
  4. System Cloning
    By griffinmt in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st January 2009, 07:39 PM
  5. Cloning a 20G to 40G HD with LVM Partitions
    By seby in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th February 2008, 10:49 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •