FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Arad
    Posts
    10

    Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    Hello, I've been using a Samsung SyncMaster 205BW for ten years now and it's still going strong, but it can only display the following resolutions (see the attached photo). Do I have any chances to do a video recording of my desktop and have it at least in 720p?

    I'm using a screen resolution of 1280x960 right now, and most of the video capturing software (for example Vokoscreen or SimpleScreenRecorder take this resolution as the default recording resolution). Unfortunately, that's not 720p.

    Any suggestions appreciated. Thank you.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	video.png 
Views:	30 
Size:	39.6 KB 
ID:	27172   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	samsung.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	49.8 KB 
ID:	27173  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,382

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    it depends on your gpu hardware as well as to what output is available. if your overall system is powerful enough you could do the recording in a virtual machine set to 1280x720.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Arad
    Posts
    10

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    I have a HP Probook 4540s notebook, i5 CPU, 8GB RAM, 256SSD, and Intel HD3000 graphics.
    The problem is that I can't set the resolution to 1280x720. Do you think a virtual machine allows me to do that? Or maybe there's a way to shot at 1280x960 and reduce it to 1280x720 without loss in quality. I tried using blender to re-encode the video and force a 720p output but things look a bit stretched after re-enconding 1280x960 to 1280x720, not ultra stretched, but it's noticable.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	new.png 
Views:	22 
Size:	67.3 KB 
ID:	27174   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	new2.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	137.4 KB 
ID:	27175  
    Last edited by leslieking; 23rd August 2017 at 10:12 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,382

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    yes do it in VM. e.g. VirtualBox with guest additions allows me to take screenshots at 1920x1080 while using a 1280x1024 monitor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Al Ain, UAE
    Posts
    2,007

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    You can use either FFMPEG or gstreamer to record your desktop in any resolution you want. To me, using FFMPEG is the easiest - quite trivial actually - a real one liner:
    https://trac.ffmpeg.org/wiki/Capture/Desktop

    It is a prime example of where fancy GUIs and wrapper scripts make a simple operation more difficult.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Arad
    Posts
    10

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    Thanks, the problem with FFMPEG is that when I set the resolution to 1920x720 it crops the screen.
    I want to record 1920x720 16:9 on a 4:3 screen.
    Last edited by leslieking; 27th August 2017 at 10:26 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    560

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    I'm not sure how much a widescreen monitor is off ebay where you are, but you could pickup a 720p one for ~20-40 in the UK... if you specifically want to record in that resolution you may as well natively work in that resolution considering the price.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Al Ain, UAE
    Posts
    2,007

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    Woah, stop before spending money...

    You could install the X dummy driver and then set the resolution to anything you want with xrandr.

    https://xpra.org/trac/wiki/Xdummy

    Some googling will quickly find you guidance on this.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    560

    Re: Is it possible to record 720p on older LCD?

    Quote Originally Posted by flyingfsck
    Woah, stop before spending money...
    But he's running a monitor that can't even even display 720p... and he could upgrade for pennies...

Similar Threads

  1. 720p MKV is laggy in Fedora 14
    By kristy in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th May 2011, 09:07 PM
  2. Logitech QuickCam 9000 Pro , get 720p from /dev/video0
    By soxs060389 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd March 2010, 11:36 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th January 2010, 10:55 PM
  4. Can my machine play 720p videos?
    By Gaurav Prabhu in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th January 2010, 07:06 AM
  5. 720p(xvid,h264) file was played OK in ps3 linux
    By dowkim10 in forum Mac Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd July 2007, 03:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •