FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    33

    No internet

    Hello,
    I am using Fedora 26 on a laptop. I log into a mate session. The wireless connection was working and I was able to connect to the internet. The wireless connection is lit like it is connected but when I now bring up any browser it says can not connect to server, say www.yahoo.com. I tried looking for help but all I could find was netstat which pretty much said I do not have a connection. I am not sure how to make a manual wireless connection or what to do next. Any ideas would be appreciated.
    Thank You,
    Micah

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    HEL
    Posts
    168

    Re: No internet

    Open a terminal and type the following

    Code:
    $ ifconfig
    Paste the output here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    33

    Re: No internet

    Entering ifconfig I get the following for wlp4s0:

    flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 192.168.0.169 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255
    inet6 2605:6000:5442:d100::2 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x0<global>
    inet6 fe80::eede:a322:3104:78bc prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
    inet6 2605:6000:5442:d100:c66e:91f8:9a3c:2c59 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x0<global>
    ether 80:19:34:80:75:7d txqueulen 1000 (Ethernet)
    RX packets 273331 bytes 38499071 (36.7 MiB)
    RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
    TX packets 18697 bytes 3573605 (3.4 MiB)
    TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

    That doesn't look like there are any problems. I still can't get through to any web pages though.
    Micah

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,156

    Re: No internet

    I have a page on troubleshooting wireless--less relevant as NetworkManager has gotten somewhat better.
    Anyway, it's at http://srobb.net/wireless.html

    Seems you have a 192.168.0.169 address.
    Can you ping the router

    ping -c 2 192.168.0.1

    If you get a result.

    ping -c 2 4.4.4.4
    EDIT: This is in correct, it should be ping -c 2 4.2.2.2 (see posts below)

    If you get a result

    ping -c 2 www.google.com

    I have a feeling it's something with DNS, and my guess is that the first two will work and the third will fail.

    By the way, ifconfig is deprecated, in Linux, you should use ip add sh wlan0 (or whatever name it is)

    So, if the pinging by IP works but name resolution doesn't, it's probably your /etc/resolv.conf. RedHat now makes that a symlink to something else (I've forgotten what), but it's one of the things I change on a new install, so I'm not sure how to fix it. At any rate, if it's pinging properly save for the google.com one, you can, as a temporary fix, put

    nameserver 8.8.8.8 in your /etc/resolv.conf.

    Sorry I can't be more help if that's the issue, as I said, it's one of the first things I change on a new install.
    Last edited by smr54; 16th August 2017 at 12:45 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    33

    Re: No internet

    It is a symbolic link to /var/run/connman/resolv.conf and it does not exist. Could that be the problem?
    Thanks,
    Micah

    PS the ping -c 2 4.4.4.4 and www.google.com both do not work.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,156

    Re: No internet

    Ok, I'm reluctant to give advice, because I don't use NetworkManager and what I do might break your system. You can try renaming resolv.conf and seeing if it gets recreated, or just rename it and fill it in as mentioned above, with the one line nameserver 8.8.8.8

    I made a mistake with the command above, sorry, just noticed now.
    Can you try

    ping -c 2 4.2.2.2 (NOT 4.4.4.4).
    If that works, then I would definitely try something like

    mv resolv.conf resolv.con.bak

    and create a new resolv.conf with the nameserver 8.8.8.8 line mentioned previously.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    33

    Re: No internet

    I don't know what happened for the wireless to be screwed up. It would show I am connected but I could not get to the internet. Since my laptop with Fedora 26 is my main laptop I just reinstalled Fedora and the connection is working. Thank you for your help. I will keep this information in mind if it stops working again. I think it had to be a program I was installing because I was installing the new Fedora 26 on my system.
    Thanks,
    Micah

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,156

    Re: No internet

    Glad it worked out for you. As the originator of the thread, you can click the Thread Tools link and mark it solved if you wish.

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] No internet with cable internet on Firefox (but internet on Chrome works)
    By simon24 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th July 2015, 10:44 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th March 2012, 12:12 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th February 2012, 03:58 PM
  4. just put f11 on my s10 but no internet
    By nobleman_james in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th October 2009, 09:30 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd July 2006, 01:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •