FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    24

    Opera fails to start under F26, was fine with F25

    Code:
    /usr/lib64/opera/opera: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/libharfbuzz.so.0: undefined symbol: FT_Get_Var_Blend_Coordinates
    Server has been successively upgraded through all the earlier versions for years in case that's any help. I did some Googling and it throws up references to old fonts, but I'd like to know if that really is the issue and how it should be dealt with properly and safely.

    Everything else works fine, in fact it's a nice job.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,377

    Re: Opera fails to start under F26, was fine with F25

    which build of opera are you using? the fedora repository one or upstream from opera's own repository?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Opera fails to start under F26, was fine with F25

    [SOLVED]

    You put me on the right lines. I did a dnf uninstall opera, then followed the instructions here http://rpm.opera.com/manual.html but used "opera-stable" rather than "opera-developer".
    Thanks.
    Last edited by bill.damage; 26th July 2017 at 11:21 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,377

    Re: Opera fails to start under F26, was fine with F25

    look in the folder etc/yum.repos.d for an opera.repo file. if it isn't there you are running the fedora build.

    have you tried re-installing the browser anyhow?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,377

    Re: Opera fails to start under F26, was fine with F25

    possibly an issue with infinality fonts if you have them installed. it's not compatible with freetype currently.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    152

    Re: Opera fails to start under F26, was fine with F25

    In my case it wasn't just Opera it was the entire gdm/Wayland subsystem after F25 to F26 upgrade.

    Booted into single user mode, saw the error message in the logs to do with the missing symbol, did a

    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep infinality
    and then did a

    Code:
    sudo dnf remove blah
    for each of the packages that came up.

Similar Threads

  1. Opera slow start up
    By chandru1 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th July 2010, 06:28 PM
  2. Opera fails to work on certain sites?
    By tashirosgt in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th March 2010, 06:19 PM
  3. Fedora 8 installs fine, fails to boot ...
    By alpinejes in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 24th January 2008, 11:22 PM
  4. FC4 installs fine but first boot fails
    By Richard42 in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th January 2008, 01:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •