FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 46 to 56 of 56
  1. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    40

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    I extracted all the libs. For the lazy here a link to all the libs you need to put in /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib

    https://ufile.io/txra1

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    6,669

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    OK, this is weird: On my home machine which I just upgraded to F26 from F25, I didn't need the fix from post #16. I tried running Acrobat Reader before making the changes, and it worked perfectly, including printing:



    I suspect that in the time since F26 was released, maybe some GTK+ or other library was updated that fixed the problem. Regardless, I'm happy that on my home F26 system Acrobat Reader runs just like before in F25, without any hacks. Yay!
    OS: Fedora 27 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 7GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    2

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    With the help of the environment variable
    export ACRO_PRINT_DEBUG=1
    it was easy to track down the libraries needed for CUPS support.
    It turns out that you just need to copy over these additional libraries from the F25 system:

    /lib/libgnutls.so.30
    /lib/libcrypt.so.1

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    6,669

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    Quote Originally Posted by jcbowman
    With the help of the environment variable
    export ACRO_PRINT_DEBUG=1
    it was easy to track down the libraries needed for CUPS support.
    It turns out that you just need to copy over these additional libraries from the F25 system:

    /lib/libgnutls.so.30
    /lib/libcrypt.so.1
    Are you saying that those two libraries are what's needed to get the old Print menu back? I tried that on my F26 system at work, and it didn't make any difference - I still got the "Custom" printer choice only.

    For some reason my work machine running F26 needs the fix, while my home F26 system doesn't. I'm going to see what extra packages my home system has compared to my work system.
    OS: Fedora 27 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 7GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    2

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    Yes, adding these libraries brought back the old print menu. Here is the full list of F25 libraries that I copied over:

    libcrypt.so.1
    libgnutls.so.30
    libXt.so.6
    libICE.so.6
    libuuid.so.1
    libpthread.so.0
    libmount.so.1
    libexpat.so.1
    libdl.so.2
    libc.so.6
    libblkid.so.1
    ld-linux.so.2

    If you have all of these libraries in /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib
    and it still doesn't work try
    export ACRO_PRINT_DEBUG=1
    Opening up the print dialog in acroread should help you diagnose what else is missing.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    6,669

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    I looked again at the Print menu on my work F26 system, and though the "Custom" button was still there, it showed two more entries when actually pressing the button:"laserjet" and "laserjet2". I picked "laserjet" and then the normal printer settings appeared (e.g. Properties). So all appears well now, with just those two new libraries installed.
    OS: Fedora 27 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 7GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    I had the same problem, but after updating today (dnf update, on August 21st), things worked flawlessly.

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    6,669

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    Interesting. The F26 update for today (Aug 21) had new i686 (32-bit) versions of glibc and libcrypt-nss. Either one or both of those likely fixed the problem.

    There is a bugzilla report for this issue, and the last comment (#7) says the onus is on Adobe to update Acrobat Reader, but it looks like it was Fedora that (quietly?) fixed the problem.
    OS: Fedora 27 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 7GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,397

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    Fortunate that the commenter isn't responsible for the Fedora libraries concerned then

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    6,669

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    Looks like this problem has reared its head again in F27. On my home machine (just upgraded to F27) Acrobat Reader still works fine. But on my work machine running F27 (inside VirtualBox in a Windows 10 host) I got this:
    Code:
    $ /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: relocation error: /lib/libm.so.6: symbol
    __strtof128_nan, version GLIBC_PRIVATE not defined in file libc.so.6 with link time reference
    Fortunately, the fix was easy and similar to the one described before. Basically, you need to copy some extra F25 libraries into a special Adobe directory. Specifically:

    For F27 copy these files from the glibc-2.24-3.fc25.i686.rpm package to /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/:

    libm.so.6
    libresolv.so.2
    libnss_files.so.2
    libnss_dns.so.2

    After copying those files, Acrobat Reader worked again.
    OS: Fedora 27 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 7GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    55

    Re: acroread does not open in F26

    Using Adobe acroread 9.5.5 already throws caution to the wind so why not use Docker on top of that too?

    https://github.com/mgor/docker-acroread

    I've never tried this. Who knows what's in the Linux acroread code.

    https://www.cvedetails.com/vulnerabi...at-Reader.html

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Similar Threads

  1. Acroread
    By npsilva in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th December 2010, 03:48 PM
  2. acroread 8
    By BoyWonder410 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th March 2008, 02:01 PM
  3. acroread on FC6
    By overule in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 3rd September 2007, 07:44 AM
  4. About acroread
    By satimis in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th March 2007, 12:41 PM
  5. Acroread and FC6
    By georges_dib in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th November 2006, 02:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •