FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87

    Can't mount Samba share onto M$

    F25

    If it isn't one issue, it is another. I can't get into ssh outside of the box either, so the isissue may be related.

    Here is the output of testparm:
    Code:
    Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
    rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
    Processing section "[homes]"
    Processing section "[usenet]"
    Processing section "[video]"
    Processing section "[website]"
    Processing section "[tmp]"
    Loaded services file OK.
    Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
    
    # Global parameters
    [global]
    	server string = Linux Samba Server
    	workgroup = VIDIOT
    	log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
    	max log size = 50
    	security = USER
    	idmap config * : backend = tdb
    	cups options = raw
    	hosts allow = 127. 192.168.1.
    
    
    [homes]
    	comment = Home Directories
    	browseable = No
    	read only = No
    
    
    [usenet]
    	comment = Linux usenet area
    	path = /WebDisk/share_download/usenet
    	read only = No
    
    
    [video]
    	comment = Video Files Workspace
    	path = /WebDisk/ftp/pub
    	read only = No
    
    
    [website]
    	comment = Web Server HTML Area
    	path = /WebDisk/http/htdocs/vidiot
    	read only = No
    
    
    [tmp]
    	comment = Temporary file space
    	path = /WebDisk/tmp
    	guest ok = Yes
    	read only = No
    But it refuses to allow a connection to my XP-SP3 M$ box using my name and password. All it does is present me with the login GUI. But, it doe work from the F14 box that I am replacing.

    getenforce shows Permissive

    I'm clueless as to why it won't work. Any and all tips appreciated.
    Last edited by MrVideo; 11th June 2017 at 06:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87

    Re: Can't mount Samba share onto M$

    The smd.log does not list any connections. Even the log file for F14 doesn't log any connections. Makes it kinda hard to troubleshoot when there is nothing logged, either good or bad. Is there a way to force that to happen?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87

    Re: Can't mount Samba share onto M$

    Found the config entry for log level. I set it to 3 and when I restarted Samba, all kinds of stuff was in there. After attempting to connect via the M$ box, there were no added entries to the log.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87

    Re: Can't mount Samba share onto M$

    Wireshark is your friend. At least it is mine. So, I set it to capture packets from the M$ box that I'm trying to do a Samba connection. This is what I get:
    Code:
    Destination unreachable (Host administratively prohibited)
    when the box tried to respond to the incoming packet.

    I've not done anything on purpose to not allow the M$ box to interact with the Linux box. I'll start a separate thread for this problem as it is not related to Samba.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87

    Re: Can't mount Samba share onto M$

    Firewall issue. Samba not allowed. IMHO, silly not to have it.

Similar Threads

  1. can't mount my samba share
    By grocanar in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 1st July 2008, 03:28 PM
  2. Need to mount samba share
    By eXDee in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th October 2006, 05:22 AM
  3. Mount Mac OSX Samba share
    By pulse00 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th October 2006, 10:45 PM
  4. mount a remote samba share
    By LackeyLad in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd July 2005, 04:43 PM
  5. Auto mount Samba Share
    By mellis95 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 21st June 2005, 01:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •