FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    München, Deutschland
    Posts
    897

    Question kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64, repo @@commandline???

    While discussing the rpm -qa script, the interesting answer emerged from
    srakitnican, so I decided to explore this on(e)line script, presented here:
    http://www.forums.fedoraforum.org/sh...43&postcount=4

    And, very interesting things emerged from my testing of this script [rpm -qa --qf "%{name}\n" > packages-list.txt]!

    As usual (almost always), I present my CLI transcript, I executed on my newly created Fedora 26 VM:

    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# cat packages-list.txt | grep x86
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64
    qemu-system-x86-core
    qemu-system-x86
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf install kmod-VirtualBox qemu-system-x86-core qemu-system-x86
    Last metadata expiration check: 0:40:11 ago on Mon May 22 08:53:36 2017 CEST.
    Package kmod-VirtualBox-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 is already installed, skipping.
    Package qemu-system-x86-core-2:2.9.0-1.fc26.x86_64 is already installed, skipping.
    Package qemu-system-x86-2:2.9.0-1.fc26.x86_64 is already installed, skipping.
    skipping.[/COLOR][/I][/B]
    Dependencies resolved.
    Nothing to do.
    Complete!
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# rpm -qa | grep kmod-VirtualBox
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64
    kmod-VirtualBox-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64
    akmod-VirtualBox-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf remove kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64
    Dependencies resolved.
    ================================================== ================================================== ====
    Package Arch Version Repository Size
    ================================================== ================================================== ====
    Removing:
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64 x86_64 5.1.20-1.fc26 @@commandline 1.1 M

    Transaction Summary
    ================================================== ================================================== ====
    Remove 1 Package

    Freed space: 1.1 M
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Running transaction check
    Transaction check succeeded.
    Running transaction test
    Transaction test succeeded.
    Running transaction
    Preparing : 1/1
    Erasing : kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 1/1
    Running scriptlet: kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 1/1
    Verifying : kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 1/1

    Removed:
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64.x86_64 5.1.20-1.fc26

    Complete!
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf install kmod-VirtualBox
    Last metadata expiration check: 0:43:44 ago on Mon May 22 08:53:36 2017 CEST.
    Package kmod-VirtualBox-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 is already installed, skipping.
    Dependencies resolved.
    Nothing to do.
    Complete!
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf remove kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64
    Dependencies resolved.
    ================================================== ================================================== ====
    Package Arch Version Repository Size
    ================================================== ================================================== ====
    Removing:
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64 x86_64 5.1.20-1.fc26 @@commandline 1.1 M

    Transaction Summary
    ================================================== ================================================== ====
    Remove 1 Package

    Freed space: 1.1 M
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Running transaction check
    Transaction check succeeded.
    Running transaction test
    Transaction test succeeded.
    Running transaction
    Preparing : 1/1
    Erasing : kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 1/1
    Running scriptlet: kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 1/1
    Verifying : kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 1/1

    Removed:
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64.x86_64 5.1.20-1.fc26

    Complete!
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# rpm -qa | grep kmod-VirtualBox
    kmod-VirtualBox-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64
    akmod-VirtualBox-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64

    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]#
    How it is possible that I had the following: kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 which belongs to repository @@commandline???
    And the following: kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64 which belongs to the same repository @@commandline???

    _nobody_

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    München, Deutschland
    Posts
    897

    Question Re: kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64, repo @@commandline??

    In addition what I wrote in introducing post:

    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf list installed | grep commandline
    rpmfusion-free-release.noarch 26-0.6 @@commandline
    rpmfusion-nonfree-release.noarch 26-0.6 @@commandline
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf list installed | grep rpmfusion-free-release.noarch
    rpmfusion-free-release.noarch 26-0.6 @@commandline
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf list installed | grep rpmfusion-nonfree-release.noarch
    rpmfusion-nonfree-release.noarch 26-0.6 @@commandline
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf list installed | grep rpmfusion-nonfree-release
    rpmfusion-nonfree-release.noarch 26-0.6 @@commandline
    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# dnf list installed | grep rpmfusion-nonfree
    Does all of this make any sense???

    _nobody_

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,617

    Re: kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64, repo @@commandline??

    @@commandline means that you've installed the package by passing an url or path to a file, rather then using a repo.

    [root@localhost rpm_qa_C_parser]# cat packages-list.txt | grep x86
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64
    qemu-system-x86-core
    qemu-system-x86
    kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.0-2.fc26.x86_64
    If this came from a rpm --query-format command, that is very strange indeed. Where did you get this package from?


    EDIT: You also might be interested in command dnf history userinstalled. It is not 100% accurate, if other package managers was used for example, but may give a very good indication. It is not possible with dnf 1.x to list packages without version number, though. Dnf 2.x got a similar repoquery feature recently that does this.
    Last edited by srakitnican; 26th May 2017 at 07:16 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    4,499

    Re: kmod-VirtualBox-4.11.1-300.fc26.x86_64-5.1.20-1.fc26.x86_64, repo @@commandline??

    I am daily visiting the Development directory for nightlies. No changes since the 5th tells me that the priority is on fixing bugs so that a beta can be released. Yesterday I installed two versions of F26, based on my previous testing, and for what I do, (compiles, blogging, videos, etc. I am OK to go. And for my spinning disk version, I used ext4 for all but swap, and for the SSD, following recommendations re performance and extending the life of the SSD, I am using btrfs.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

Similar Threads

  1. fedup FC25 -> FC26 not working (yet?)
    By bobx001 in forum F26 Development Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th April 2017, 11:00 PM
  2. Upgrade to FC26 may kill USB3.0
    By bobx001 in forum F26 Development Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th April 2017, 06:55 PM
  3. FC26 nice log entry
    By bobx001 in forum F26 Development Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th April 2017, 07:35 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th February 2017, 09:08 AM
  5. Where to find kmod-nvidia-4.2.6-201.fc22.x86_64.x86_64 for a f21 to f22 upgrade
    By gc001 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th December 2015, 10:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •