FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    123

    MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    I just got a new machine and installed Fedora 25 on it. I get these errors on boot:

    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef1ffc0 MI
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef200c0 MI
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef1ce80 MI
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef1ff00 MI
    Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME

    Does that mean something is defective?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,220

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    not necessarily, what hardware does your new machine have? it may need newer kernels for proper support. have you done a full update and reboot since installing?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    398

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    not necessarily, what hardware does your new machine have? it may need newer kernels for proper support. have you done a full update and reboot since installing?

    Maybe the battery on the internal clock is dead ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    Hi, is your machine a Dell perchance?

    My new Dell has had the same errors, and a number of other people are reporting the same thing as well.

    I found this thread on the issue. I have not attempted to update the BIOS yet.

    https://lkml.org/lkml/2017/1/4/559

    Don't quote me on this, but I ran across a thread on redhat support indicating this might be an incorrect mce for some kind of throttling event. I cannot find it now, so I'm sure I'm misremembering exactly what was said.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,220

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    it certainly does look like a processor microcode error relating to UEFI firmware rather than anything CMOS related

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    398

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    it certainly does look like a processor microcode error relating to UEFI firmware rather than anything CMOS related
    yet another micro$oft timebomb ... lol

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,220

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    this one has nothing to do with MS. It's 100% the responsibility of the OEM to make sure their firmware contains the correct CPU Microcode, that aspect is no different from legacy BIOS.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    I just updated the firmware via the fwupd package and can confirm that the error has gone away.

    FINALLY.

    Now on Fedora 25, currently fwupd won't launch due to a problem with libgusb. There is a work-around currently to downgrade the libgusb package to the fedora 24 version. I got the rpm here:

    http://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/fedora/...24.x86_64.html

    Then:

    dnf downgrade libgusb-0.2.9-1.fc24.x86_64.rpm

    I downloaded the firmware from: https://secure-lvfs.rhcloud.com/lvfs/

    Then:

    fwupdmgr get-devices
    ...
    fwupdmgr install fdab6b6740a254c640ef6c109ff7692e1d1d0531-XPS9560v1.2.4.cab

    Reboot and it goes into the firmware update. Took 5 minutes.

    I'm using KDE, this process is a little more integrated with GNOME, but the command line works just fine.

    Again, this is all on my Dell Precision M 5520, so your situation may not be exactly the same.

    I hope this helps people who've been searching for as long as I did.
    Last edited by GraySplatter; 1st May 2017 at 07:10 PM. Reason: fixed typo libgush to libgusb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    123

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    It is a dell machine Inspiron Desktop 3668. What firmware would I use?

    ---

    mcelog: Family 6 Model 9e CPU: only decoding architectural errors
    mcelog: warning: 24 bytes ignored in each record
    mcelog: consider an update
    Last edited by H0wdy; 8th May 2017 at 03:06 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    I've spent a little time researching but I haven't found an easy answer for you.

    According to:

    https://certification.ubuntu.com/hardware/201610-25163/

    Your system is a UEFI firmware system, so if you follow method #2 in this:

    http://www.dell.com/support/article/...nments?lang=EN

    My best guess is that would work. EXCEPT that I don't see a Linux driver provided in the Dell support site for the 3668 running Linux.

    This is interesting here. Read the little blurb in the Dell section:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BIOSUpdate

    If you are using UEFI and your F12 boot options include "Flash BIOS upgrade", one may download the BIOS upgrade .exe from Dell's website, and put it to your /boot/EFI/ folder. Reboot and select "Flash BIOS upgrade" option. In the dialog select the .exe file you have just downloaded and continue with the process.
    That also links to this:

    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DellBIOS

    The description there looks like a better write-up of method #3 at the Dell web page.

    So check your boot options to see if you can upgrade from there. The current Windows version of the BIOS update is:

    https://downloads.dell.com/FOLDER041...3268_1.2.1.exe

    Drop it into /boot/EFI/ as it says.

    And remember, PROCEED WITH CAUTION. Firmware updates can absolutely brick your system. If your firmware has a recovery option, great, but still take care.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    123

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    Ok, I seem to already have that bios:

    sudo dmidecode -s bios-version
    1.2.1


    So what do I do about the MCE errors?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    The date of that BIOS is nearly a month older than the date on mine, so I think it's likely that the next update to your BIOS will fix the issue.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    123

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    Ok, I updated to that 1.2.1 one from March, and I still have the same errors :/
    Last edited by H0wdy; 10th May 2017 at 02:24 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    Yeah, I'm pretty sure Dell is aware of this problem. I would expect to see a new BIOS soon. I know how annoying those MCEs are, I lived with them for a couple of months. Nothing's wrong with your system, so, hang on for the next update and if that doesn't fix the problem then we can revisit.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    123

    Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

    Thanks, Gray. I'll keep waiting for a new one.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can't view mce hardware errors
    By dvavra in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th June 2016, 12:08 PM
  2. Developer machine-hardware compatible with F20
    By piprog in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th September 2014, 11:57 PM
  3. List the installed hardware on a machine? GUI?
    By sepoto in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th February 2011, 02:23 AM
  4. uhci_hcd and USB errors - I have no USB hardware!
    By allany2525 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th April 2009, 06:05 PM
  5. What hardware to buy, if building a new machine?
    By zxc in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th February 2005, 08:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •