FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    25

    Production and Development same server

    Hi

    I am running a small home based LAMP server for a small web page. I both run in production mode and development mode the website using the same laptop.

    I am wondering if I can use my apache server for development but some how have the domain name not be broadcasting globally when apache is on?

    Some basics it is a simple LAMP setup using ddclient to create a fixed ip on a 127.0.0.1:8080 host and when I connect it to the internet my domain name resolves to a fixed ip.

    Ideally, I would like to have apache on, connect to the internet through my router, but not have my domain broadcast?

    Is this possible?

    ps I am a novice but can work terminal.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    48

    Re: Production and Development same server

    You can add a username/password login to your devsite, https://www.server-world.info/en/not..._7&p=httpd&f=8

    You can also allow ip addresses, but if the ip addresses change then setting up username/password will be better.
    http://sharadchhetri.com/2016/07/24/...in-apache-2-4/

    You can also setup vpn but that might take more time than the two suggestions I mentioned. Those two links are examples of how to set it up. You can to modify it to match your setup.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    25

    Re: Production and Development same server

    Thanks I'll give those a try 👍

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    25

    Re: Production and Development same server

    Worked like a charm - I upped the directory for any access to the /var/www/html directory, so it took a bit of fiddling.

    But, it works great!

    Thanks
    Karen

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    48

    Re: Production and Development same server

    I am glad it works :-)

Similar Threads

  1. The Perfect Server, aka ISPConfig based web mail dns and ... production level server
    By LaKing in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd September 2010, 03:12 PM
  2. Production Server DEAD
    By stefshuuj in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 8th December 2007, 09:16 PM
  3. yum vs self-compilation for a production server
    By markmcb in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th September 2006, 12:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •