FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cornwall England
    Posts
    485

    Flatpak as a bug workaround

    Discovered something interesting about installing LibreOffice Flatpak, it can be used to workaround bugs.
    I've got a bug where palette is locked to default and having tried asking for help on the likes of
    https://ask.libreoffice.org/en/questions/ decided to try Flatpak, also partly out of curiosity.
    Via Flatpak the bug has gone, can continue to use my custom palette.
    Last edited by JONOR; 5th September 2016 at 07:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,389

    Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

    not surprised at all, I've been removing Fedora's version of LibreOffice and running the upstream TDF builds to stay 'fresh' since I first started using Fedora and never experienced any problems.

    Fedora's build on the other that I tried during the Alpha and Beta stages of F24 was a bit buggy with regards toolbar and menu rendering. I did try reporting it but I don't recall anything coming of it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    855

    Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

    Quote Originally Posted by antikythera
    not surprised at all, I've been removing Fedora's version of LibreOffice and running the upstream TDF builds to stay 'fresh' since I first started using Fedora and never experienced any problems.

    Fedora's build on the other that I tried during the Alpha and Beta stages of F24 was a bit buggy with regards toolbar and menu rendering. I did try reporting it but I don't recall anything coming of it.
    Hi antikythera

    What do you mean by "and running the upstream TDF builds" . How does one get the "TDF build"?
    Robert :)
    Kernel 4.11.12-100.fc24.x86_64 Gnome Software 3.20
    CPU AMD FX-6300 Six Core AM3+
    MoBo Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 AMD760G AM3+ MicroATX
    Memory 8 Gigs Gskill Ripjaw DDR3-1333 PC-10666

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,389

    Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

    one downloads the rpms from the libreoffice fresh downloads page. I prefer to use the torrent and then seed it to other peers from my computer when I'm finished downloading them via Transmission.

    simple process really. I prepared a guide about it many moons ago

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cornwall England
    Posts
    485

    Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

    Just followed your guide antikythera for installing TDF builds which went successfully and has some obvious benefits over Flatpak such as quicker file and config integration.
    Should say for the present 5.2.0.4 is significantly more unresponsive in Writer and slightly more unresponsive in Calc spreadsheets than 5.1.5.2.
    Have decided to go back to 5.1.5.2 and wait until a higher fresh TDF download is available and maybe try that.
    My original plan was to find a guide like antikytheras but Flatpak came up in the search engine result first and piqued interest.
    Also, another partial workaround to aforementioned bug is remove the standard.soc from ~/.config/libreoffice/4/user/config of LO 5.1.5.2 and replace with customized standard.soc.
    Last edited by JONOR; 7th September 2016 at 09:07 PM. Reason: more detail / grammar

Similar Threads

  1. workaround for 'BAD PASSWORD'
    By jon80 in forum Security and Privacy
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd June 2008, 10:57 AM
  2. FC6 Bug ... Any workaround?
    By pstrang in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd December 2006, 04:25 AM
  3. Log-in Workaround
    By theHawkeye in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th November 2006, 08:23 AM
  4. ssh workaround?
    By sergio_101 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th January 2005, 05:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •