gnome-calculator has changed help.
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    102

    gnome-calculator has changed help.

    I had worked on RHEL6 for a long time and gnome-calculator (gcalctool) is something I depend on.
    This new gnome-calculator in Fedora 22 doesn't seem to allow me to have the binary display on. When I type a number in instead of the value being displayed in the binary display area that area is shadowed and no data is displayed. Also the results are displayed in scientific notation when I need integer form.

    Naturally I am in Programming mode so having the values displayed in scientific notation also is problematic.


    I tried to pull up man gnome-calculator to see how to configure gnome-calculator but that was of no help.

    Where do I or what do I do to get rid of the scientific display because I do need the integers not the scientific notation form and how do I turn on the binary display?

    Thanks Fedora 22 is cool but it's a bit awkward if one is used to RHEL6 with gnome-calculator there seems to be no pull down menus, no configuration.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Southeast USA
    Posts
    186

    Re: gnome-calculator has changed help.

    I get a binary option underneath the display window on the left size, there is a drop down with Binary as an option. Is that the Binary option you are wanting?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,355

    Re: gnome-calculator has changed help.

    on mine the little calculator in the top left corner has a menu and one of the items is preferences, you can select the number format there
    x--x--x
    http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html
    Freedom is never Free.
    Pat Jr.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    440

    Re: gnome-calculator has changed help.

    Looks like it changed again in f23. (ie gnome 3.18.1) it has a mode dropdown. To get binary it appears you have to select "programming mode" from the main dropdown. Then you can select decimal, binary, octal or hexadecimal.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Southeast USA
    Posts
    186

    Re: gnome-calculator has changed help.

    Quote Originally Posted by alphacrucis
    Looks like it changed again in f23. (ie gnome 3.18.1) it has a mode dropdown. To get binary it appears you have to select "programming mode" from the main dropdown. Then you can select decimal, binary, octal or hexadecimal.

    That's the way that it is in F22. I wish I could post a screen shot, but it keeps on failing when I try to upload it to the site.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,483

    Re: gnome-calculator has changed help.

    I was able to set binary, hex, scientific,etc.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,486

    Re: gnome-calculator has changed help.

    I just use qalculate instead. Much better calculator than the one in Gnome.

    Code:
    dnf install qalculate-gtk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    102

    Re: gnome-calculator has changed help.

    Doh!

    Wasn't looking in the very top of the screen where it is separate from the body of the calculator now

    Okay then I get it. All the functionality I am used to is there and there are some new features.

    I have to say I was annoyed in having to switch between mode to access some functions before.
    Now those functions are on the programming.

    Thanks
    Last edited by Ernst0; 27th October 2015 at 03:57 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. changed to gnome 2
    By h66m9d in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th October 2012, 06:08 PM
  2. Default calculator seems to have changed
    By leonardevens in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st May 2011, 12:48 AM
  3. Calculator changed in F13?
    By assen in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 7th September 2010, 11:29 AM
  4. Kde windows changed to gnome interface!!
    By fireman2904 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th March 2006, 07:14 AM
  5. X failed when changed from GNome to KDE
    By websmith in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th February 2005, 06:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •