FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Superblock last write time is in the future

Hello everyone!

I'm new to Fedora and this is my first post. About a month ago I installed Fedora 21 in my computer. I chose a minimal installation with a few additions. Everything was fine until March 5th, when I started to notice the system booted a bit slower than usual (it normally takes less than 3 seconds, so adding 2 extra seconds is noticeable).

I fired systemd-analyze critical-chain and it blamed systemd-fsck-root.service as the problem. I examined the history log for that service and funnily enough, I had started to get the following messages while booting and the service is now taking 2.6 seconds alone to run:

Code:
    -- Reboot --
    Mar 05 07:17:33 localhost.localdomain systemd-fsck[280]: ROOTFS: clean, 362548/7331840 files, 12428807/29304945 blocks
    -- Reboot --
    Mar 05 07:20:10 localhost.localdomain systemd-fsck[278]: ROOTFS: Superblock last write time is in the future.
    Mar 05 07:20:10 localhost.localdomain systemd-fsck[278]: (by less than a day, probably due to the hardware clock being incorrectly set).  FIXED.
    Mar 05 07:20:12 localhost.localdomain systemd-fsck[278]: ROOTFS: 362572/7331840 files (0.2% non-contiguous), 12431446/29304945 blocks
    The workaround for that problem as suggested by a web search is to simply put "broken_system_clock = 1" in /etc/e2fsck.conf. That works, but I want to know why it's complaining, because I don't know what's wrong and I'm unable to get rid of the problem.

• The system dualboots Fedora and Windows 7.
    • On installation Fedora configured the hardware clock as using local time (confirmed from /etc/adjtime).
    • The BIOS shows the correct local time.
    • Using date on the command line shows the correct local time.
    • hwclock displays the correct local time too.