FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    64

    (blank) screenshots

    Think I'm going to need som help with the screenshots. I first installed “vokoscreen” and tried that one, but all screenshots are empty, or accually they grabs the login screen (or the default desktop picture (same)) instead.

    Here's a picture of vokoscreen with the magnifying glass. That gray('ish) area is part of the background in LightDM.




    To rule out the program, I also tried with scrot. It grabs the same picture.

    Any ideas?


    Setup: Fedora 21 (32bit), Cinnamon in VirtualBox (4.3.24)
    [eric@...] ~$

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Aubagne France
    Age
    63
    Posts
    659

    Re: (blank) screenshots

    I can see you use fedora 21 in VirtualBox.
    With VirtualBox you use a generic driver for video, and may-be those drivers are not compatible with vokoscreen program.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    64

    Re: (blank) screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by chepioq
    I can see you use fedora 21 in VirtualBox.
    With VirtualBox you use a generic driver for video, and may-be those drivers are not compatible with vokoscreen program.
    Been trying to sort this out now, and I'm kind of halfway through. It seems to be Cinnamon related.

    printscreen, gnome-screenshot, vookoscreen... all are producing the “blank” images. But I think I've found a good explaination for that. Went through the Cinnamon issue tracker on Github, where 1 post suggested to first try the panel program: Desktop Capture. And that one did work.

    So when I was reading through his issues, I found this one: https://github.com/rjanja/desktop-ca...mment-14122904, explaining why it doesn't work.

    - - -


    It's an ok/nice program so I can use that, even though I'd like to have a “program” (not an applet).

    Screenshots are ok, and video to, but I can't seem to make the audio work when recording.

    The applet, when using ffmpeg as back-end, is using: ffmpeg -f alsa -ac 2 -i pulse ...
    When reading the ffmpeg-wiki::capture alsa - I guess I have to go with the loop example if I want to record the sound of an audio player?

    The line: modprobe snd-aloop pcm_substreams=1
    The last part (pcm_str...) looks like it's something that needs to be added to grub, or added to another file if I want it to be persistent?

    I haven't used alsa like this before, so I'd really appreciate if someone could give some input.
    [eric@...] ~$

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,277

    Re: (blank) screenshots

    So basicly you are saying that you have multimedia issues within a virtualbox.
    Screenshots and videos are to be taken from the outside of the virtualmachine, makes that task quite alot easier.

    Anyhow, about taking a screenshot:
    Code:
    import -window root screenshot.jpg
    Personaly i never could get audio to work inside a virtualbox, i assume its for the same reason as one cannot use xrandr to get the screen resolution.

    BTW, if you feel the command line for ffmpeg to become too complex, you might like my 'VHS' (see signature).

    Hope this helps.
    EFI Cheatsheet :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=298546
    Video Handler Script (VHS) (mass re-encode videos, screenrecorder, console music/webradio player, ...) :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=299182
    Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=298161

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    64

    Re: (blank) screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by sea
    So basicly you are saying that you have multimedia issues within a virtualbox.
    Screenshots and videos are to be taken from the outside of the virtualmachine, makes that task quite alot easier.

    Anyhow, about taking a screenshot:
    Code:
    import -window root screenshot.jpg
    Personaly i never could get audio to work inside a virtualbox, i assume its for the same reason as one cannot use xrandr to get the screen resolution.

    BTW, if you feel the command line for ffmpeg to become too complex, you might like my 'VHS' (see signature).

    Hope this helps.
    Thanks sea. I'll look at the VHS script. Well, not multimedia-issues. I guess to grab the application sound it's about how to configure the line properly. The issue seems to be Cinnamon, or more exactly how other programs (doesn't) work inside it. Like he mentioned in his post - something about the Cinnamon back-end.

    I tried “import -window ...”, with same result. It grabs the boot screen, not the desktop. Just like scrot and the other ones. And after some time, it will grab the lock screen.

    Audio and xandr is fine. Both are working.
    Code:
    $ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 64 x 64, current 1280 x 880, maximum 16384 x 16384
    VGA-0 connected primary 1280x880+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       ...
       ...
    For the audio, perhaps I should go with Jack audio to route the appliction sound.
    [eric@...] ~$

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    64

    Re: (blank) screenshots

    Just a note, in case it'll help anyone later… (ie. FTR)

    There was an update to VirtualBox 4 in January: 4.3.36*
    https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Download_Old_Builds_4_3

    With that one (+ guest additions) and F23, the problem disappeared.

    * I cant use the newer 5.* on my Mac.
    [eric@...] ~$

Similar Threads

  1. No Screenshots
    By Premium Ookwee in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th January 2010, 11:41 PM
  2. Screenshots
    By Spats in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th October 2005, 02:43 AM
  3. How do I take screenshots?
    By Impeteperry in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19th January 2005, 11:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •