Suddenly "Alert! Hard Drive not found" error on Fedora 20 months after upgrade
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Suddenly "Alert! Hard Drive not found" error on Fedora 20 months after upgrade

I've been using Fedora 17 for a few years on my work machine and recently I decided to upgrade to Fedora 20 (several months ago actually). While working yesterday, my desktop background image went black, then the screen went black. So, I rebooted and now I'm getting "Alert! Hard Drive not found" when the machine tries to boot. I can't see the drives from the BIOS menu (for both connected HDs it says "{none}") and if I run the diagnostics or try to install from a LiveCD I get the same errors that say no drive was detected.

I've seen many posts on this topic but I haven't seen a solution. Is there anything I could try to get the system to recognize the drives or at least test if this is a software issue? Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by SES23; 6th March 2015 at 07:18 PM.

Re: Suddenly "Alert! Hard Drive not found" error on Fedora 20 months after upgrade

Is this error message the very first thing you see? When do you see it? Is it before or after the GRUB menu? It sounds like the drive died to me, off hand, but I don't know where you're seeing this error message.

Re: Suddenly "Alert! Hard Drive not found" error on Fedora 20 months after upgrade

Open it up and check the connections. Then check the hard drives: when you switch it on, do you hear any sound coming from them? Both drives at the same time sounds more like a mobo (controller) issue to me. If the BIOS doesn't see them, no software can.

This is a Dell Optiplex 990, and right after it boots up to the Dell splash screen where you can press F12 to change the boot options or access the BIOS settings it goes to a black screen that just says:

Code:
    Alert! Hard Drive not found.
    To continue press F1 key
    To change setup option press F2 key