CUDA on F21
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    <Solved partially>CUDA on F21

    Any one got CUDA to work on F21 yet getting dependency issues:

    bit of a bummer as I'm a Blender head

    Enjoy the Choice
    Last edited by Loki1950; 13th December 2014 at 09:01 PM. Reason: Added solved partially to title
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    western PA
    Posts
    155

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Could you post those dependency errors, as I too will need CUDA shortly?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Sure thing share the pain

    Code:
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    Error: Package: 1:xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-devel-343.22-3.fc21.i686 (rpmfusion-nonfree)
               Requires: xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda(x86-32) = 1:343.22-3.fc21
               Installing: 1:xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda-340.29-2.fc20.i686 (cuda)
                   xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda(x86-32) = 1:340.29-2.fc20
               Installing: 1:xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64 (rpmfusion-nonfree)
                  ~xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda(x86-64) = 1:343.22-3.fc21
     You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
     You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest
    Enjoy the Choice
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    western PA
    Posts
    155

    Re: CUDA on F21

    For what it's worth: my advise is to go right to the NVidia site and download both the GPU driver, and CUDA devkit from the source. Don't use the rpmfusion packages ones.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Thanks to leigh123linux and his cohorts installed a new update last night,it should do the trick now I have to fix a borked Xorg config my fault will post back when I have F21 live again.

    Enjoy the Choice
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Well back in the saddle deleted all the xorg.config files in etc/X11 in text mode good enough reason to keep "nouveau" around. But no Cuda daemon looks like I have all the libs but no initialization.So looking for some help in figuring out what to do next.

    Enjoy the Choice
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    50
    Posts
    10

    Re: CUDA on F21

    I'm having this issue too. I tried to upgrade to F21, but this won't let me do it.

    Does Fedora still have the problem where using NVidia's drivers will bork your system?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Quote Originally Posted by cubdukat
    I'm having this issue too. I tried to upgrade to F21, but this won't let me do it.

    Does Fedora still have the problem where using NVidia's drivers will bork your system?
    Not really this is just a packaging issue as they worked quite well under F20 was using them on a 32 bit install till I got more RAM.

    Enjoy the Choice
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    western PA
    Posts
    155

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Quote Originally Posted by cubdukat
    I'm having this issue too. I tried to upgrade to F21, but this won't let me do it.

    Does Fedora still have the problem where using NVidia's drivers will bork your system?
    Maybe clarify what you mean by "using nvidia's drivers".

    The vendor drivers from their website WILL screw with files in the xorg distro: most notably replacing system libraries, and putting in symlinks where there were direct files under mesa. So, once you go the route of using the vendor drivers you probably don't want to go back, unless you're really comfortable diagnosing X library problems and know how to reinstall an RPM to its pristene condition.

    As far as the rpmfusion packaged drivers go: I got tired of the version mismatches every time a new kernel came out, so ditched it and went right to the source.

    I recommend people do two things: 1) use the vendor supplied nvidia drivers, and 2) don't update your kernel every time a new one comes out. Most kernel updates are superfulous, or not needed. They just add unneeded maintenance and complexity.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    Re: CUDA on F21

    I have no real issues with the packaged versions since version 3 of Fedora core akmod route takes care of kernel updates if there's a problem I just boot the previous kernel and log in to the forum to see who else has an issue usually gets cleared up in a day or two.

    Enjoy the Choice
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Well have got all the libs installed but no CUDA sever so here's the output from leigh123linux query string.
    Code:
    abrt-addon-kerneloops-2.3.0-3.fc21.x86_64
    akmod-nvidia-343.22-4.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-core-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-core-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-devel-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-devel-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-headers-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-extra-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-extra-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kmod-nvidia-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64-343.22-4.fc21.x86_64
    kmod-nvidia-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64-343.22-4.fc21.x86_64
    libreport-plugin-kerneloops-2.3.0-4.fc21.x86_64
    nvidia-texture-tools-2.0.8-9.fc21.i686
    nvidia-texture-tools-2.0.8-9.fc21.x86_64
    nvidia-texture-tools-devel-2.0.8-9.fc21.i686
    nvidia-texture-tools-devel-2.0.8-9.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-kmodsrc-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    nvidia_uvm             49613  0 
    nvidia              11068215  54 nvidia_uvm
    drm                   300858  3 nvidia
    # nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
    # nvidia-xconfig:  version 343.22  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-05)  Thu Sep 11 16:49:51 PDT 2014
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Unknown"
        HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
        VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    [root@localhost bin]# lspci |grep VGA
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107 [GeForce GT 640] (rev a1)
    Hopefully someone will spot the conflict blender now sees the compute device though so something is right.

    Enjoy the Choice
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    <Solved partially>Re: CUDA on F21

    Bingo on a hunch turned off SELinux and rebooted fired up blender and did a test render it worked so now for a complete solution we need a SELinux policy so it can hit the repos.Will post my full steps it was taken from http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-get...#axzz3Lj6FQgtc now to build the CUDA sdk.

    Enjoy the Choice
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa ,Canada
    Posts
    459

    Re: CUDA on F21

    Here is the working output after updating the kernel earlier this evening even managed to do a short 140 frame AVI raw animation only 100 samples /frame the GT640 ain't that powerful but it works.
    Code:
    root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa *\nvidia\*  *\kernel\*|sort;uname -r;lsmod |grep -e nvidia -e nouveau;cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    abrt-addon-kerneloops-2.3.0-3.fc21.x86_64
    akmod-nvidia-343.22-4.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-core-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-core-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-core-3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-devel-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-devel-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-devel-3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-headers-3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-extra-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-extra-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64
    kernel-modules-extra-3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    kmod-nvidia-3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64-343.22-4.fc21.x86_64
    kmod-nvidia-3.17.4-302.fc21.x86_64-343.22-4.fc21.x86_64
    kmod-nvidia-3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64-343.22-4.fc21.x86_64
    libreport-plugin-kerneloops-2.3.0-5.fc21.x86_64
    nvidia-texture-tools-2.0.8-9.fc21.i686
    nvidia-texture-tools-2.0.8-9.fc21.x86_64
    nvidia-texture-tools-devel-2.0.8-9.fc21.i686
    nvidia-texture-tools-devel-2.0.8-9.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-kmodsrc-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs-343.22-3.fc21.x86_64
    3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    nvidia_uvm             49613  0 
    nvidia              11068215  42 nvidia_uvm
    drm                   300858  3 nvidia
    cat: /etc/X11/xorg.conf: No such file or directory
    [root@localhost ~]# uname -r
    3.17.6-300.fc21.x86_64
    Not much difference except for the support for 3 kernels and the lack of a Xorg.conf file
    now to get my two monitors behaving the 19" is on the VGA port so is taken as Monitor 0 while the 24" is on the HDMI port it's even on the wrong side before log-in should be easy enough to craft a snippet for xorg.conf.d
    Enjoy the Choice:)
    Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
    XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3

Similar Threads

  1. CUDA and MPI
    By robirobi in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th March 2014, 03:52 AM
  2. CUDA on fedora 15
    By bxsjc in forum Programming & Packaging
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd August 2011, 02:41 PM
  3. CUDA mplayer etc
    By hiberphoptik in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th April 2010, 10:31 PM
  4. How to get Boinc 6.4.5 to use CUDA
    By Kobuck in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th September 2009, 05:50 PM
  5. Anyone using CUDA?
    By drunkahol in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th August 2009, 01:25 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •