Sandbox Stopped Working
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    America
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sandbox Stopped Working

    After a recent upgrade with "yum Extender" ( I'm not sure anymore what was upgraded ) the selinux "sandbox" command stopped working on my system. I get the error messages:

    Code:
    Failed to execute command /usr/share/sandbox/sandboxX.sh: Operation not permitted
    Failed to remove directory /tmp/.sandbox-root-1f04cB: No such file or directory
    Any idea what would cause this? Thanks for any information!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    ~
    Posts
    1,954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    For some reason the sandbox module is disabled.
    It can be reanabled with the following command:
    $ sudo semanage module --enable sandbox
    This fixes command line programs but the -X switch still won't work.
    This is the recent update that seems to have messed it up.
    For sandbox it mentions that now unpriviledged users should be able to use it.

    This looks like the bz.
    Last edited by Dutchy; 1st May 2014 at 07:28 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    America
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    Thanks for the information! I've read on other linux sites that it is possible to create a new group account on my system , use iptables to block internet access for that group and then execute a process under the blocked group so that the process will not have network access. Is this actually possible? I saw this information here:http://serverfault.com/questions/550...grams-on-linux as well as other places. I've tried to do this as described but this doesn't seem to work either ( is there a fedora specific way to accomplish this ? ).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    I don't know, would help this for you. This manual in Russian. But I use skype in sandbox. I'm recommend this for you. It work. Thanks!





    P.S. For Fedora 20:
    Code:
    $ sudo yum install fedora-release-rawhide
    
    $ sudo yum --enablerepo=rawhide upgrade libcap-ng
    Enjoy!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    America
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    Thanks for the information! This seems to have solved the problem ( whatever the problem was ).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    yum downgrade libcap-ng worked to stop the
    Failed to execute command /usr/share/sandbox/sandboxX.sh: Operation not permitted

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    America
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    I don't know, would help this for you. This manual in Russian. But I use skype in sandbox. I'm recommend this for you. It work. Thanks!
    I should have asked earlier , but have you ever been able to run a media player like vlc in the sandbox. I've tried to use vlc many times , but can't seem to get the audio to work. Thanks for any information.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    ~
    Posts
    1,954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    Quote Originally Posted by cmanL
    I should have asked earlier , but have you ever been able to run a media player like vlc in the sandbox. I've tried to use vlc many times , but can't seem to get the audio to work. Thanks for any information.
    You need to include /tmp/.esd-1000 and maybe also change the permissions.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    America
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    Thank you for your response! Could you possibly give me an example of how the command input would look like to do this ( I'm not sure of how to do this ). Thanks for your input....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    ~
    Posts
    1,954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    After some selinux updates the terminal sandbox works (but for some reason keeps getting disabled after a update) but -X still doesn't work (there is no more error message unless when -t sandbox_xserver_t is used).
    In the mean time the discussion has been moved to another bz entry.
    Quote Originally Posted by rishard
    ...
    P.S. For Fedora 20:
    Code:
    $ sudo yum install fedora-release-rawhide
    
    $ sudo yum --enablerepo=rawhide upgrade libcap-ng
    Enjoy!
    Does using rawhide packages still fixes this for F20?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    ~
    Posts
    1,954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sandbox Stopped Working

    Tried sandbox -X again and noticed that it was causing avc denials.
    After generating a policy from it it now works.

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED]
    boinc stopped working
    By hakova in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th December 2011, 04:40 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th November 2010, 02:58 PM
  3. K3b stopped working
    By vinoman in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th March 2009, 02:37 PM
  4. X stopped working.
    By Wotan in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 4th August 2005, 11:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •